Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

l’Occitane’s Cade, all the way

with one comment

Steve of Kafeneio made an interesting observation about l’Occitane’s Cade shaving soap and shaving cream:

I was able to work up a nice lather [from the shaving soap] that nevertheless lacked the slickness and water-holding capacity of other top-notch shave soaps such as the Institut Karité or the Mitchell’s Wool Fat. In the end the soap produced a reasonably good shave, but nothing to write home about. And therein lies the kicker. My earlier review of  l’Occitane’s shave cream solo was even more disappointing….so how the heck do these two products put together manage to produce the most amazing superlather ever and probably the best shave ever too? I think this is a true case of product synergy, whereby the result from the two combined is far-and-above better than either alone. This is the first time I experience this phenomenon with such intensity and clarity. Frankly, if I had used either product alone the first time out, I would never have bought them again. But as luck would have it, my first two shaves were with the incredible superlather…and I’m sold for life!

As it happens, I have both the shaving soap and shaving cream, so yesterday I went to the l’Occitane store in Carmel and picked up the shave oil and a small tube of the aftershave balm (thus breaking my self-imposed moratorium on buying shaving stuff). So today I was set:

The fragrance is just wonderful, and the two (soap and cream) did produce a fine lather. I went with the Gillette English open-comb Aristocrat and the Treet Black Beauty blade still in it. The blade was just a little old, but a terrific shave withal. Two passes with the lather, then a rinse and used the Cade oil for the final, ATG pass. Then the Cade aftershave balm. A terrific result.

Good work, Steve. I don’t know if your discovery ranks with that of vulcanizing rubber, but certainly serendipity pays off.

Written by LeisureGuy

25 March 2008 at 8:10 am

Posted in Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the kind comments. “Gourmet” shaving has opened both my wallet and my mind – I’ve learned never to take anything for granted, and in the immortal words of the master negotiator, Chester Karrass, “There’s always a better deal to be had if you take the time to look for it”.

    Steve

    25 March 2008 at 9:12 am


Leave a Reply

