Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

One-pot meals

with 5 comments

I do love a good one-pot meal. (I do dishwashing by hand.) And I hate the suggestion “Serve over rice or noodles” because that means ANOTHER DAMN POT!

So I like the look of the book Glorious One-Pot Meals: A Revolutionary New Quick and Healthy Approach to Dutch-Oven Cooking. Note that it is for Dutch ovens: it is specifically NOT a slow-cooker cookbook.

She calls her method “infusion cooking” and it does seem to be a novel way of cooking. You arrange the food in layers in the Dutch oven, cover it, and then put it in a 450º F oven for 30-45 minutes or so, depending on the recipe. And the entire meal is in the pot: fast, easy, and intriguing.

Full disclosure: I got into this after reading a post on Scott Feldstein’s blog on how to get a good cast-iron enameled Dutch oven inexpensively.

Written by LeisureGuy

8 January 2011 at 12:19 pm

Posted in Books, Daily life, GOPM, Recipes

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just took a chance and bought the Kindle version so I can read it on my iPad. (Does it have color photos? I don’t know yet!)

    Also, I never mind “serve over rice,” as I have a small rice maker. Easy as can be, just one bowl-sized insert to wash after. No stirring, no fussing. Put your 2:1 of rice and water, push the button, forget about it.

    scott

    8 January 2011 at 3:08 pm

  2. Michael, I ordered the dutch oven, knob and book, per your suggestion…. Please post more of your experience’s with this cooking method and recipes of course. I can’t wait to give this cooking method it a try, Doug (55dougie)

    55 dougie

    9 January 2011 at 6:13 am

  3. I am under a purchase moratorium until after my birthday, but I’ll keep you posted. I do note that the book calls for a 2-quart enameled cast-iron Dutch oven. The Lodge is a 3-quart, but I think it will work by just upping the amounts slightly.

    In reading through the recipes, I really resonate to the method: she cooks like a cook, which is to keep on hand a good selection of items by category and build the meal by categories, picking the combination for the evening and making sure it includes starch, protein, and veggies.

    LeisureGuy

    9 January 2011 at 6:43 am

  4. A 2-quart Dutch oven is not that easy to find. Here’s one.

    LeisureGuy

    9 January 2011 at 8:20 am

  5. I finally got the Lodge 3-qt myself. I’m not sure it will work for this method of cooking: I would prefer a pot with a smaller diameter and greater height. Staube makes a 3.5-quart round cocotte that seems a better shape.

    LeisureGuy

    25 February 2011 at 8:12 am


Leave a Reply

