Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Archive for September 13th, 2011

A stand-up comic I enjoyed on Watch Instantly

with one comment

Jim Garrigan: Beyond the Pale. Made me laugh very hard. I do it for the endorphins. Save the endorphins!

Written by LeisureGuy

13 September 2011 at 5:26 pm

Posted in Comedy, Movies & TV

New brushes for me and The Older Grandson

with 2 comments

I just got three new shaving brushes from PensOfTheForest.co.uk: Rodney Neep’s site. I like his handle designs, particularly those in wood:

He offers the option on some brushes (the two on the right above, for example) of insetting a British coin into the base of the brush, your choice of year:

1940 is my natal year, and 1996 is the The Older Grandson’s. It occurs to me that I should order a brush in reserve for The Younger Grandson.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 September 2011 at 2:03 pm

Posted in Shaving

Zite for iPad

with one comment

I just learned about from this post at Kafeneio. If you have an iPad and don’t know about it, worth a click.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 September 2011 at 9:16 am

Posted in Media, Technology

Refreshing shave with Honeybee Soaps Fresh Lemon

leave a comment »

Full disclosure: Honeybee Soaps created the Fresh Lemon shaving soap at my request, so naturally I like it a lot. And with the Vie-Long horsehair brush, I got what seemed to me to be Creamy Lather. The Pils, with a Swedish Gillette blade, provided three very nice passes. I just got the Nancy Boy aftershave gel. I’m not sure which essential oils are included, but it had somewhat the impact of the eucalyptus, tea tree, and menthol combination: a hit of that will wake you up. Nice feel on the face, and I’m ready for the day.

I like Honeybee Soaps in general: good fragrances, good lather, and the soap includes shea butter. Her shave sticks do include one with Rose fragrance (we were looking for those the other day). The jar above is my own: I bought a round and melted it at low heat (never over 150ºF/65ºC) to pour into my own jar. Easier on the whole just to buy the soap already in a jar.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 September 2011 at 8:31 am

Posted in Shaving

