Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Archive for January 12th, 2012

Tomorrow’s project: Avocado-oil+Meyer-lemon mayonnaise

with 2 comments

More and more I don’t trust processed foods—or, more accurately, foods processed beyond a certain vague point—and lately I feel that mayonnaise, store-bought in jars, has crossed that line. I also don’t like the oils they use, which are heavily processed.

So I decided to make my own. Olive oil, especially the true EVOO I have now, is too strong-tasting for the mayonnaise I want, so I got to thinking and quickly lighted on avocado oil, another vegetable oil. Like olive oil avocado oil is unusual because it’s made from the fruit rather than the seed of a plant. And avocado oil, like olive oil, is also quite high in monounsaturates, keeps well (unlike the polyunsaturated oils, which I avoid altogether (YMMV)), and has a mild taste.

And since I have three Meyer lemons sitting on the counter, …

The thing is, once I make it, I inevitably must use it and when I blog that I’m making tuna salad and list among the ingredients “avocado-oil+Meyer-lemon mayonnaise,” readers may think it prescriptive rather than strictly descriptive: that’s the mayo I have. And you see how I arrived at the ingredients: pretty straightforward.

And making it sounds also pretty straightforward:

That’s from the manual for my immersion blender, so we’ll see how it goes. Obviously, I’m going to use egg yolks, and I’ll buy fresh eggs tomorrow. I’ll scramble the whites for something.

Sounds like an easy project, and it will be nice to have plain old mayo. Tuna salad is a definite possibility. With whatever mayo I happen to have on hand.

Mayonnaise Update: I just now made it: it took the yolks of three “extra-large” eggs to make 1/4 cup, and I did indeed scramble the whites. I separate yolks from whites in my hands, letting the whites fall through my fingers: works well and sort of fun.

The juice of Meyer lemons is not very acidic, so the next time I make this I think I’ll go for 2 Tbsp instead of 1 if I’m using Meyer lemons. The avocado oil came in a 1-cup bottle, convenient. I’m now going to make the aforementioned tuna salad. 🙂

I think I might try this recipe as well:

If you’re unsure about roasting garlic, they thoughtfully provide instructions, which I thoughtfully include (Mark Twain advised that the surest way to get a compliment was to pay one to yourself):

UPDATE: Mayo was fantastic: very thick consistency, about like slightly softened butter. Extremely tasty. Might use a bit more mustard. Next batch will be Almond Oil, just for fun. The mayo makes immediately. Everyone who has an immersion blender should try this. 🙂

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2012 at 8:21 pm

Posted in Daily life

Made the salad, with adjustments

leave a comment »

As you can see from the update to the salad post, I did add a fair amount in the way of vegetables. Enormous salad now, and very tasty.

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2012 at 3:25 pm

Posted in Daily life, Food

Origin of “The Lumberjack Song” on Monty Python’s Flying Circus

with 6 comments

I am not blogging today to speak of, but tomorrow I should have my new glasses and text will become attractive once more. But I wish to send out a special message to WV on Salt Spring Island: The wonderful series Monty Python: Almost the Truth, of the various members reminiscing about that show and how it got started, and who did what, just featured a discussion of how “The Lumberjack Song” came to be, certainly one of their best routines.

The entire series is well worth watching, and it is available on Netflix Watch Instantly, which I believe we now export to Canada.

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2012 at 1:52 pm

Posted in Movies & TV

Very important message regarding your freedom and the Internet

with 2 comments

Our corporate masters do NOT like the internet because it is (currently) out of their control—why, my God!, people can write whatever they please, and it can be read all over the world—not just media companies, ordinary citizens!! They really want to put a stop to this, because if individuals can express their opinions freely and work together cooperatively… why, where does that leave big corporations? Struggling for control, that’s where, and their first order of business is to control the internet and get people to STOP WRITING FREELY!!

(You see this in the book Extra Virginity, which describes how large Italian oil producers, uniformly corrupt and selling adulterated and fake EVOOs, have used court actions to make sure that no one in Italy can publish anything that questions what they are doing, even if what is published is factual. They do NOT want any opposition as they loot the public.)

Now we are engaged in a great battle testing whether the Internet, or any medium that gives members of the public a good platform, will endure, or whether it can be folded into corporate control and trivialized, diverted, or otherwise made ineffective as a vehicle for public action.

Take a look at this:

The freedom, innovation, and economic opportunity that the Internet enables is in jeopardy. Congress is considering legislation that will dramatically change your Internet experience and put an end to reddit and many other sites you use everyday. Internet experts, organizations, companies, entrepreneurs, legal experts, journalists, and individuals have repeatedly expressed how dangerous this bill is. If we do nothing, Congress will likely pass the Protect IP Act (in the Senate) or the Stop Online Piracy Act (in the House), and then the President will probably sign it into law. There are powerful forces trying to censor the Internet, and a few months ago many people thought this legislation would surely pass. However, there’s a new hope that we can defeat this dangerous legislation.

We’ve seen some amazing activism organized by redditors at /r/sopa and across the reddit community at large. You have made a difference in this fight; and as we near the next stage, and after much thought, talking with experts, and hearing the overwhelming voices from the reddit community, we have decided that we will be blacking out reddit on January 18th from 8am–8pm EST (1300–0100 UTC).Instead of the normal glorious, user-curated chaos of reddit, we will be displaying a simple message about how the PIPA/SOPA legislation would shut down sites like reddit, link to resources to learn more, and suggest ways to take action. We will showcase the live video stream of the House hearing where Internet entrepreneurs and technical experts (including reddit co-founder Alexis “kn0thing” Ohanian) will be testifying. We will also spotlight community initiatives like meetups to visit Congressional offices, campaigns to contact companies supporting PIPA/SOPA, and other tactics.We’re as addicted to reddit as the rest of you. Many of you stand with us against PIPA/SOPA, but we know support for a blackout isn’t unanimous. We’re not taking this action lightly. We wouldn’t do this if we didn’t believe this legislation and the forces behind it were a serious threat to reddit and the Internet as we know it. Blacking out reddit is a hard choice, but we feel focusing on a day of action is the best way we can amplify the voice of the community.

As we have seen yet again in the fight against PIPA/SOPA, the best ideas come from our community. We all have just over a week to figure out exactly what to do with our extra cycles on January 18th. Please join us in the discussion in the comments here and in /r/SOPA.

— the reddit team

Learn More

Get Involved

view this post on reddit

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2012 at 9:57 am

Posted in Daily life

New horsehair brushes—and Dr. Selby

with 11 comments

Two new Vie-Long horsehair brushes shown above, along with my Dr. Selby in the posture the box recommends: the lid used as a base, the concentrated shaving cream (that’s what it says, but it acts like soap to me) exposed to the air to dry between shaves (and if you should cover, the lid is perforated with holes).

Martin de Candre soap also recommends discarding the lid, which is provided only for travel. They also want the soap to dry between shaves. And I notice that my triple-milled shaving soaps generally are in bowls with loose-fitting lids rather than screw-on caps. The glycerin shaving soaps I use have tight-fitting lids, and I speculate that with glycerin soaps one wants to avoid too much drying? Or are those simply the types of contains artisans can easily afford?

The brushes are extremely nice: I love the colors that horsehair brushes can have. Here they are, ready for their close-up:

If you click the image a couple of times, you get a super-close-up that lets you examine detail. I used the smaller brush today: excellent lather generation and capacity, somewhat prickly on the face (which I rather enjoyed, but not to everyone’s taste: you can definitely tell it’s not a silvertip, more so than with some of my other horsehair brushes). It will make a good travel brush and is rather fun to use.

I didn’t use its larger brother this time, though I have made a fine lather. I’ll note prickliness when I encounter it.

At any rate, terrific lather. I was so excited by the brushes, I forgot to include the razor, so used the S3S and got a superb shave—that really is an excellent razor, right, Steve?

Finally, I used the Primalan almond oil lotion. My God! that stuff is good. Wonderful effect on my skin. This is definitely one Garry’s Sample Shop should carry if he doesn’t already: it’s pricey, but you don’t need much to show what it can do. If Garry doesn’t have it, he’ll probably add it upon request: small vendors are quite responsive to customer demand.

Really: I’m not a balm guy, but this stuff is quite wonderful. Better (for me) than the Castle Forbes balm, for example.

Cleaning lades today: late start as I ready the apartment.

Written by LeisureGuy

12 January 2012 at 9:41 am

Posted in Shaving

