Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Renewed emphasis on low-carb eating

with one comment

My weight crept up, and when I read this post at DietDoctor.com, I realized why: I have fallen into eating more carbs. I like the Picadillo recipe, but I did not realize how intensely carb-heavy raisins are—and I get too many raisins in a portion. As he points out in the post:

Shai2

And my latest HbA1C was not 5.7% as it has been, but 6.0%: pre-diabetic. (Got the lab report today.) That is probably due to a combination of more carbs and more weight. So now I’m watching it.

If I’m honest, it wasn’t just the raisins in the picadillo. There were also a number (in two digits) of chocolate truffles over the past few weeks, dessert when we ate dinner in a restaurant—plus the bread at the restaurant and in a sandwich… I’m sure if I had been tracking my food I would find plenty of carbs sneaking in.

No more. I’m now being extra careful (and the weight is dropping: last Thursday I was at 229.2; today, 223.1. (The Thursday figure was an overnight gain, so naturally it deflated quickly: the day before, on Wednesday, I was 227.8, which was more like a real weight. But still: down 4.7 lbs from that.)

When you observe both low carbs (less than 20g net carbs = total carbs – fiber) and also keep the total calories at a reasonable level, the weight melts off pretty quickly.

I really need to be more vigilant about carbs and truly avoid them.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 April 2015 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Food, Health, Low carb

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Koypapi's Blog.

    Koypapi

    14 April 2015 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

