Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Shaving with under-appreciated gem, the iKon Shavecraft #101

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-06-08

And I have to say that Semogue boar brushes seem over-appreciated to me: I’ve never understood their appeal. The Semogue Owners Club shown is okay, but truthfully I find my Omega boar brushes perform better. Still, that’s shaving: what works for one may not work for another.

I did get a good lather from Van Yulay’s Achilles, which has a fragrance I enjoy and, even with the Semogue, a terrific lather.

The iKon Shavecraft #101 doesn’t get much discussion, but it’s a wonderful razor IMO: extremely comfortable and extremely efficient. Three passes were plenty to produce a BBS result.

A good splash of Bathhouse aftershave (no longer available, I fear), and I am about to scurry around the apartment and ready it for the cleaning ladies.

Written by LeisureGuy

8 June 2016 at 7:28 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. do you find the shavecraft to be mild?

    djmariorafrohman

    8 June 2016 at 10:37 am

  2. Michael, I am surprised at your opinion of Semogue brushes. I have an 830 which did take a long time to break in and does require (for me) a different technique, i.e., after I soak the brush I turn it upside down and give it one gentle shake, resulting in a wetter brush than I normally load with when using badger or synthetic. However, the brush now provides wonderful lather and great feel on my face. I bowl lather with it. Another example of YMMV, I suppose.This is a bit off topic, but I recall your opinion on the 830 which I read somewhere before.

    Sam Osnowitz

    8 June 2016 at 10:53 am

  3. The Shavecraft #101 is extremely comfortable and also extremely efficient. So it’s “mild” in terms of comfort and feel on the face, but “aggressive” in terms of performance and efficiency.

    But the Shavecraft line varies a lot from razor to razor. The Shavecraft #102 (a slant) and Short Comb are, like the #101, both comfortable and efficient. The Shavecraft Tech, however, I found to be extremely uncomfortable, although quite efficient.

    Yeah the 830 never broke in for me. Omega brushes break in quite easily in comparison to the Semogue line.

    LeisureGuy

    8 June 2016 at 11:11 am

  4. Ah, but the 830 is so worth the effort.

    Sam Osnowitz

    8 June 2016 at 11:35 am

  5. Unfortunately, I ran out of patience before I reached that point. And I suppose I’m thinking that my level of patience is closer to the norm than is yours, but in fact I could easily lie at an extreme of impatience. Quite possible. E.g., The Wife says I get impatient and don’t brown food long enough.

    LeisureGuy

    8 June 2016 at 11:49 am


Leave a Reply

