Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

The Pleasure of shaving, with Mühle silvertip, Meißner Tremonia Wooody Almond shaving paste, Gillette Super adjustable, and Anthony Gold Red Cedar aftershave

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-06-10

I like that Mühle brush a lot: it’s very fluffy and soft and holds loads o’ lather. I do note that the Meißneer Tremonia shaving pastes are going to cost more per shave than their soaps: I’ve already made a pretty good dent in this tub. But I do like them, and the Woody Almond is wonderful, in fragrance and in ather.

My Gillette Super Adjustable did a fine job, though truthfully the Gillette adjustables were (IMO) a marketing gimmick and in fact I can get better shaves with some three-piece razors, even from three-piece razors that are not slant. But the Super Adjustable razors are quite good.

A splash of Anthony Gold’s wonderful Red Cedar aftershave (from The Copper Hat in Victoria BC), and I can see the weekend from here.

Written by LeisureGuy

10 June 2016 at 7:38 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have used my lavender paste 33 times and maybe will squeeze 10 more shaves,only the sides have paste,3/4 of the middle jar is empty..but,its a great product. Ordered some Hasslinger to try,sounds pretty good.Used my 101 this a.m.,it is indeed a fine razor.

    RonL

    10 June 2016 at 8:49 am

  2. Yeah, the Meißner Tremonia soap is a much better bang for the same $25. I’m delighted that you like the #101. It does not get enough recognition, IMO.

    LeisureGuy

    10 June 2016 at 9:41 am

  3. Your comments about the Gillette adjustables are interesting. But the Rockwell model T is also an adjustable. Would you consider it in the same light?

    reynald p

    10 June 2016 at 11:23 am

  4. Yeah. Near as I can tell adjustables are a gimmick, though a particular adjustable might be a very good razor: the Apollo Mikron and the Progress are both excellent, for example. But I don’t see that they offer much advantage over a good non-adjustable razor save in theory. Still, I signed up for the Model T out of curiosity and to support Rockwell.

    LeisureGuy

    10 June 2016 at 12:05 pm

  5. Looking forward to a future review of that adjustable!

    Larry

    11 June 2016 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

