Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Wee Scott, Dress Bleu’s, and the Stealth Stainless, with Red Cedar aftershave

with 4 comments

SOTD 2016-06-13

The Wee Scot came up in a Wicked Edge discussion, and it reminded me that the little guy hasn’t been out much lately. It struck me that Van Yulay’s soap, with it creamy and abundant lather, would be a good soap for the Wee Scot, so this morning I tried a new sample: Dress Bleu’s (the apostrophe is in the original). The fragrance: “Pink Pepper, Grapefruit, Citrus, Labdanum, Patchouli, Mint, Jasmine, Vetiver, Cedar, Nutmeg, Ginger, and Sandalwood.”

The brush loaded easily, and it made a terrific lather, still abundant in the brush at the end of the three-pass shave. And the RazoRock stainless Stealth seemed to love the lather: easy, smooth passes and a perfect BBS result. The Stealth really is an amazingly good slant, IMO. Some have said that the size of the head makes shaving under the nose difficult, but I find it’s not problem at all: an easy pass WTG, then clean up with XTG in both directions, and the finishing ATG pass leaves the lip smooth.

I finished with Anthony Gold’s Red Cedar aftershave, which perhaps connects with the Cedar in the soap. A very nice way to begin a new week.

Written by LeisureGuy

13 June 2016 at 7:36 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That razor has a futuristic look

    Larry

    14 June 2016 at 10:17 am

  2. I agree, now that you mention it. It does a superb job, but Joe says the soon-to-appear Wunderbar shaves better…

    LeisureGuy

    14 June 2016 at 10:53 am

  3. Hoping that he makes enough to meet demand because I am definitely interested

    Larry

    14 June 2016 at 11:45 am

  4. There’s an Instagram photo of him holding up a baseplate and in the background you see scores of baseplates. I think his idea was to allay the fears people (rightly) have after seeing various other excellent RazoRock razors (Baby Smooth, Stealth, Stainless Stealth) go totally out of production. So the photo says, “See? Lots!”

    That said, I’m placing my order the instant I receive my email. I’m at my computer most of the day, so I imagine I’ll be in the first wave. The key is the periodicity of the waves. In the past, and still with iKon, the periodicity is rather long.

    LeisureGuy

    14 June 2016 at 12:03 pm


Leave a Reply

