Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Omega Mixed Midget, Barrister & Mann Roam, Gillette NEW, Phoenix Cavendish

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-06-17

Today’s shave was effortless and satisfying, the very sort of shave that makes a routine well-loved.

The little Omega brush shown is a mix of boar and badger, so I wet the knot well before the shower. Barrister & Mann’s Roam is a fine shaving soap and I easily got a really wonderful lather. Though the brush is small, the knot has ample capacity for more passes than I will ever make.

The razor is a short-toothed Gillette NEW, which (so far as I can tell) shaves exactly like the long-toothed Gillette NEW: extremely comfortably and with great efficiency. I easily achieved a BBS result, to which I applied a splash of Phoenix Artisan’s Cavendish.

My skin feels not only totally smooth, but also very soft. I think this soap has some magic in it.

Written by LeisureGuy

17 June 2016 at 7:52 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I “believe” I have that razor, circa 50’s as I recall. I will have to confirm. A friend picked up the razor and a vintage Kent V8 Brush for me at an Antique Shop near Biltmore. I don’t use it often, stuck on the #102, but it does provide a great shave which is hard to believe because it is so basic.

    Mike

    17 June 2016 at 10:30 am

  2. It does seem that very small differences in razor design can make the difference between a mediocre razor and a great razor. The NEW is one of the great ones.

    LeisureGuy

    17 June 2016 at 10:35 am


Leave a Reply

