Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

A Shave Italienne

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-06-20

One reason I like to skip my Sunday shave is that the week then begins early Monday morning with a particularly fine shave, which seems a great way to start the week.

This morning I used the Italian-flag brush by RazoRock, which has a Plissoft sort of knot and a very comfortable handle. It easily made a really excellent lather from Virgilio Valobra’s shaving soap. This soap is packaged as a bar, but it has a putty-like consistency and can easily be mashed into a tub.

The Fine slant continues to do an excellent job: perfect smoothness in three passes, with no nicks and no burn.

A good splash of Floïd finished the job in fine style.

Written by LeisureGuy

20 June 2016 at 9:53 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it has been a long time since I used Virgilio Valobra, how do you compare that to Cella? Hard to beat Floid, in my opinion.

    Mike

    20 June 2016 at 12:33 pm

  2. I have no Cella currently, but they are comparable, at least in my recollection. I did once have a tub of Cella turn rancid, but I imagine someone who used it more regularly than I would encounter no such problem.

    LeisureGuy

    20 June 2016 at 12:39 pm


Leave a Reply

