Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Connecticut Yankee—based on Williams Mug Soap’s original 1840 formula—and the iKon X3

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-06-23

Although Heritage Shave’s Connecticut Yankee says it uses the original Williams Mug Soap formula, I do note that Connecticut Yankee does contain shea butter (all to the good, IMO), and I do wonder if it was in the original formula. But it might well have been. Wikipedia notes:

Accounts from as early as Cleopatra’s Egypt speak of caravans bearing clay jars of valuable shea butter for cosmetic use. The funeral beds of early kings were carved in the wood of shea trees. Shea butter’s skin care and healing properties were first harnessed thousands of years ago. The history of shea as a precious commodity can be traced back to Ancient Egypt, where shea butter was and continues to be used to protect the hair and skin against the fierce sun and the hot dry winds of African deserts and savannah.

So it was certainly well known, at least in some circles, in 1840, and its use in cosmetics was well-established.

At any rate, the soap, with a strong citronella fragrance, makes a very fine lather, this morning with the aid of the Kent Infinity brush, a synthetic that works well (though I personally prefer the Omega regular-size S-brush (like the S10005) and the angel-hair/Plissoft synthetics.

The iKon X3 head on the UFO handle remains one of my favorite slants, and it did a superb job today. I wanted to remind myself of the X3 feel as I continue to learn the RazoRock Wunderbar. It’s worth noting that the YMMV rule also applies to razors: for example, I find Maggard’s V2 open-comb more comfortable and more efficient than their V3 bar-guard, but I know some that prefer the V3 to the V2.

That said, at this point (when I’m still getting the hang of the Wunderbar and still trying different brands of blades), the X3 is for me a more comfortable and more efficient razor. That may change—it took me weeks to learn the Apollo Mikron—but right now I have to acknowledge that I can whisk the X3 over my face (that strange “no blade” sensation) but still must exercise some care with the Wunderbar.

Of course, the X3 is still not available. I’m using a prototype, and I’m told that one final adjustment was made before the production run. I’m very eager to see it. Before July 4??? Who knows? (Ans: Not me.)

I finished the shave with a good splash of Fine’s Clean Vetiver, which I believe he has renamed. By any name it would be a fine aftershave (in both senses).

The weekend is coming into view on the horizon. Hold on.

Written by LeisureGuy

23 June 2016 at 7:57 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Wunderbar is a nice razor and I know you can switch out handles but I find the whole package quite heavy and cumbersome. The range is quite wide too so it’s taking a little time to nail down. Looking forward to the X3, smoothness, and lack of blade feel. The head looks sleeker than the Wunderbar if my eyes don’t deceive me.

    Stuart

    23 June 2016 at 8:57 am

  2. I’ll do side-by-side photos of the Wunderbar and the X3 tomorrow.

    LeisureGuy

    23 June 2016 at 9:36 am

  3. Clean has been renamed Green.

    Mike

    23 June 2016 at 11:54 am

  4. If the X3 doesn’t shave significantly different than the SC102, I am less inclined to purchase it. Going to wait and see about the Wunderbar as I’m pretty happy with my Fine, Merkur, and Shavecraft 102 at this time. The two Rockwell razors might be a better buy for my purposes.

    Larry

    23 June 2016 at 1:32 pm

  5. Yeah, for me the 102 and the X3 perform and feel much alike, with less blade feel in the X3. However, some have reported that they experience clogging with the 102, and I’m wondering whether the X3 might be better in that regard just due to differences in head design. And, of course, some prefer that their slant be twisted.

    LeisureGuy

    23 June 2016 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

