Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

The Wunderbar and the X3, with lots of orange

with one comment

SOTD 2016-06-24

A really superb shave today. I took some comparison photos of the RazoRock Wunderbar and the iKon X3 (still not on the market), but I shaved only with the Wunderbar since I want to learn it, and today’s shave was the easiest and smoothest yet. It’s the third shave with the Wunderbar, and the second with the Astra Superior Platinum blade.

But first the prep. I picked up QED”s Wild Orange shave stick, no longer available, and it resulted in a really fine lather, thanks to the G.B. Kent BK4 brush. The fragrance is striking, the lather is good, and the stubble vanished with the work of the Wunderbar.

Three passes, a splash of Royall Mandarin to continue the orange theme, and I’m ready for the day, hypersmooth on my face and with a pleasant fragrance.

I did want to offer some photos comparing the Wunderbar and the X3, but the first is unfortunately out of focus:

Side

Still you can see that the X3’s profile on the right seems a bit flatter than the Wunderbar’s. And here’s the front view, though the Wunderbar was not sitting quite square on the base of the handle—some fleck of dirt on the shelf tilted it a bit:

Front

Again, Wunderbar on the left, X3 on the right.

I know that some come here solely for the shaving posts, but I do want to point out a brief review of a really excellent movie, free on Amazon Prime streaming. I revised the review this morning, after sleeping on it, and if you’re interested you can read it here.

Written by LeisureGuy

24 June 2016 at 8:24 am

Posted in Movies & TV, Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice shots of the two heads. I can see the top cap of the X3 is somewhat thinner but the bottom cap is shaped very similarly. I can feel a lot of blade with the Wunderbar and lean towards razors where I don’t. Nice shave today as well but really looking forward to the arrival of the X3….someday soon!

    Stuart

    24 June 2016 at 11:34 am


Leave a Reply

