Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Things like the Omega boar brushes, Meißner Tremonia Strong ‘n Scottish shaving soap, and the iKon X3 are why I love my morning shave

with 6 comments

SOTD 2016-06-28

A good shave is a great pleasure, and this morning I picked things I particularly enjoy. The Omega 20102 brush is by now well broken in and it is a pleasure. I like the Strong ‘n Scottish fragrance a lot and the lather even more. The 20102 has a fairly large knot, so in loading I did add a couple of driblets of water to get the knot fully loaded. Since Strong ‘n Scottish contains clay, I imagine that also contributes:

Stearic Acid, Cocos nucifera oil*, Whisky, Potassium Hydroxide, Orbignya Oleifera oil*, Aqua, Sodium Hydroxide, Lanolin, Glycerin, Red clay, Cedrus deodora oil, Talc, Citric Acid, Simmondsia chinensis oil*, Juniperus oxycedrus wood tar, Maris sal, Limonene, Linalool.

* Organic quality

The iKon X3 really is on the top tier of slants, at least for me, and I really like this UFO handle. I can see this being my only razor, if it should come to that. Three passes, completely comfortable feel (“did I forget to put a blade in it?” sort of feel), and absolutely smooth result with nary a nick.

A good splash of Hâttric and I have a very cheerful outlook for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 June 2016 at 9:27 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Same handle, same soap for me, but with an Ikon Tech head and Feather blade would be my last tools standing (with perhaps an Omega silvertip).

    Barry

    28 June 2016 at 10:15 am

  2. There’s YMMV for you: I couldn’t use the iKon Tech because for me it was so uncomfortable. I agree that Omega silvertips, judging on the two I have, are seriously underrated, or at least undermentioned.

    LeisureGuy

    28 June 2016 at 10:43 am

  3. I definitely feel the blade and must use a light touch. It has improved my technique and provides unparalleled shaves. Now I don’t enjoy a razor unless I get the feedback from (feel of) the blade. Tradere, Muhle R41 (2013) and ATT H2 provide such feedback but are not as efficient for me.

    Barry

    28 June 2016 at 5:10 pm

  4. You would probably enjoy the Rockwell R5 and R6: extremely comfortable but also lots of blade feel and also very efficient.

    LeisureGuy

    28 June 2016 at 5:22 pm

  5. What’s your favorite blade for the X3? I was able to get one through a special Ikon offer in Facebook.

    Matt

    1 July 2016 at 7:12 pm

  6. The X3 seems pretty tolerant of brand of blade, but I mainly use Personna Lab Blue because they work well and I got a 100-pack. But other brands in that razor also work well.

    LeisureGuy

    1 July 2016 at 7:23 pm


Leave a Reply

