Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Chinese Cold Boiled Chicken

with one comment

I made this recipe and it’s very tasty. Ingredients:

  • 6 large bone-in chicken thighs
  • Salt
  • pepper
  • 1 two-inch piece of ginger, peeled and thickly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 3 star anise
  • 4 scallions, 2 whole and 2 slivered
  • 3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 1 jalapeño, thinly sliced, optional
  • 2 tablespoons roasted sesame oil
  • Lime wedges, for serving

I did indeed use 6 large bone-in chicken thighs, which fit fine in my 10″ sauté pan. I did use a little more ginger than the recipe specified, and I never bother removing the (very thin) peel from ginger. I used 8 garlic cloves and 4 star anise, and I had no scallions at the time so just used a red onion I had on hand, sliced thickly.

After the thighs had cooled (i went and did other stuff, so it was probably an hour), I removed and discarded the skin, then picked all the meat off the bones, pulling it into bite-size pieces.

I was going to separate the fat, but there wasn’t all that much. I reduced the stock for 10 minutes as suggested, but next time will do 12-15 minutes.

It gelled fine overnight in the fridge, and this morning I scraped off the layer of congealed fat. Then in a bowl I put:

  • 4 slivered scallions—actually, more like chopped very thinly
  • 1/2 bunch chopped cilantro
  • no jalapeño, but only because I didn’t have it; a Serrano pepper would also work nicely, I think
  • 2 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • juice of 3 limes

I mixed that well, then stirred into the chicken dish, disrupting the gel (but we’re not really going for a flawless aspic here) and distributing the dressing. To serve, spoon into a bowl. It eats like a thickened chilled meaty soup with relatively little liquid.

Worth trying. And it’s dead easy. Simmering is nothing, of course, and pulling the meat from the thighs is simple if messy. Making and stirring in what I think of as the dressing is trivial.

I imagine this is something to make again, particularly when the weather’s hot.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 June 2016 at 10:23 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds good🙂

    The Smiling Pilgrim

    29 June 2016 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

