Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Van Yulay Bay of Roses with the Rockwell

leave a comment »

SOTD 2016-06-29

The Omega silvertip badger brush shown is quite good, but it’s not one of my big, puffy Omega badgers. This one is more a normal steady silvertip brush, and it did a fine job with the Van Yulay sample of Bay of Roses. The soap has an interesting rose fragrance, not so in your face and somewhat more complex than many rose-fragranced soaps. The vendor describes it:

The allspice, cloves, nutmeg and crisp pine needles of bay rum with beautiful roses added to the mix.

The lather was effective as well as fragrant, and with the Rockwell I got a good shave, though I seemed to work a little more at it. When I checked following the shave, I saw that I had been using the R1 baseplate instead of the R3 I assumed. I changed it to R4 for the next shave in any case.

A good splash of Saint Charles Shave’s Dark Rose aftershave, another more complex rose-based fragranced, and the day begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 June 2016 at 8:14 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

