Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Van Yulay’s After Dark with the Standard and Creed’s Green Irish Tweed

with 6 comments

SOTD 3016-07-01

I do like the shape of the handle of that brush, and the knot is wonderful (for me). Van Yulay’s After Dark has an arresting fragrance (for me): it goes beyond “pleasant” and really got my attention in an attractive way. Her description:

Cinnamon, leather, cypress, sandalwood, tonka bean, amber, patchouli, lavender, mandarin orange, musk, benzoin, vanilla, apple, cedar and bergamot.

She notes “Compared to Carlos Santana Fragrance,” a fragrance I’ve not tried, but certainly I’m now interested.

The lather was as good as the fragrance. The soap is one of the vegan ones:

Stearic Acid, Aloe Vera, Coconut Fatty Acid, Castor, Glycerin, Potassium Hydroxide, Coconut-Emu-Babassu-Olive-Argan-Jojoba-Oils, Calendula, Extracts, Poly Quats, Sodium Lactate, Allantoin, Silica, Liquid Silk, Bentonite Clay, Essential Oil, and EO’s and Fragrance.

Three passes using the Standard head on the Wolfman handle, and then a good splash of Creed’s Green Irish Tweed. The weekend begins! (The Wife is taking today off, so we have a longer weekend.)

Written by LeisureGuy

1 July 2016 at 10:37 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have the black handled Razorock Plissoft Barber brush, and agree about the shape and feel. The handle is large but comfortable, and I was surprised how nicely formed the knot was on mine, better than any other Plissoft-style brush I’ve had. Took me two tries but I also got a similar knot on the RR Bruce model. They both continue to impress with their lathering.

    Ron

    1 July 2016 at 11:00 am

  2. The handle shape reminds me somewhat of the Simpson Emperor, one of my favorite brushes. (I have the 3 and the 2, and once had the 1).

    LeisureGuy

    1 July 2016 at 11:15 am

  3. Yes, it’s a take-off on the Emperor and M7, my favorite shapes. I’ve had mis-shapen Plissoft knots before and some that were bear-thin, but the conformation and density on my two Plissofts is nearly perfect. I don’t usually care for glue bumps in my knots, but the ones on the Plissoft seem to help with backbone, and Razorock set the loft on these just right, whereas the Shave Revolution version (similar handle and knot) was set too high. RR did a good job on these, especially considering the ridiculous (read: low) prices.

    Ron

    1 July 2016 at 11:40 am

  4. Just a quick correction to the above: I’ve had some pretty gnarly PLISSON-style knots before, both Plisson and Plissoft.

    Ron

    1 July 2016 at 11:42 am

  5. It’s interesting to me how important it is to get the loft “just right,” in terms of my preferences: a slightly too short or too long a loft, and I’m instantly aware of it. Satin Tip synthetics seem to have slightly too short a loft—but I’ve figured out how to enjoy what that razor is, rather than try (futilely) to make it behave like a different razor. My tutor Bill Darkey once told me something that’s doubtless a common saying: that the idea of education is not to turn a cabbage into a rose, but to help the cabbage be the very best cabbage it can. That certainly has overtones of a class society, but what I think it’s saying that we must recognize and exploit our individual differences, those things that set us apart. And I got a Rooney Style 2 on sale, and it’s loft was quite noticeably shorter (and the knot less pleasant) than my other Rooney Style 2s. That one I did not try to get to love, and it’s in the”outgoing” pile.

    LeisureGuy

    1 July 2016 at 12:12 pm

  6. I like my Standard and get great shaves from it, but is the razor I am most likely to nick myself with and requires my undivided attention to avoid blood.

    Larry

    2 July 2016 at 11:40 am


Leave a Reply

