Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Van Yulay Café Vetyver and iKon X3

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-07-04

I thought I’d use my stout and stubby brushes for a while, and the Simpson Chubby exemplifies the type. This is a Chubby 1 Best. The Chubby 2 is too large for me, and the Super has too much backbone.

I got a very nice lather from Van Yulay’s Café Vetyver: “Roasted Coffee with Vetyver and Nutmeg fragrance.” This soap uses a vegan formula:

Stearic Acid, Aloe Vera, Coconut Fatty Acid, Palm Stearic, Glycerin, Coconut-Castor-Olive-Meadow Foam-Babassu-Argan-Oils,Calendula, Extracts, Poly Quats, Sodium Lactate, BTMS, Allantoin, Silica, Kaolin Clay, Coffee Powder, Half & Half, EO’s and Fragrance

I did indeed have to add a little extra water as I loaded, and as usual I attribute that to the clay content, kaolin clay in this case.

Inspired by Michael Freedberg’s video review of the X3, I brought it out for this morning’s shave. It easily, comfortably, and efficiently removed the two-day stubble, leaving my face BBS, to which I applied a good splash of Fine’s Fresh Vetiver aftershave. I see it’s currently out of stock, but in fact I like Green Vetiver (once called Clean Vetiver) a bit more.

A great shave for the holiday. A happy and safe Independence Day to you.

 

Written by LeisureGuy

4 July 2016 at 8:40 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is this the X3 prototype, or a shipping version?

    vmarks

    4 July 2016 at 12:27 pm

  2. Good point: this is still the prototype. I check daily the iKon site to see whether the X3 is there. I want to buy a production version to compare it with the prototype. (I have one son and five grandsons, so I have plenty of potential razor recipients.)

    LeisureGuy

    4 July 2016 at 1:17 pm


Leave a Reply

