Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Two petrichor soaps and the Wunderbar

with 3 comments

SOTD 2016-07-05

The Wife was interested in petrichor shaving soaps, and so today I used the Route 66 sample Perfect Storm and Chiseled Face’s Summer Storm, using my two Brushguy brushes.

Although The Wife found that Perfect Storm had a stronger fragrance as a puck, for me Summer Storm was easier to smell. In terms of lather, Summer Storm blew away (as it were) Perfect Storm, but some of that might be the difficulty of loading from a mini-puck.

I used the Wunderbar, and just as I thought I had it licked, I got a couple of nicks on the upper lip, one fairly large. I’ll keep at it, but for me the Wunderbar is challenging.

A good splash of Chiseled Face’s Easy Street and the day begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

5 July 2016 at 9:21 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great start to the day with your blog expanding both my shaving knowledge and my vocabulary.

    pet·ri·chor
    ˈpeˌtrīkôr/
    noun
    a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather.
    “other than the petrichor emanating from the rapidly drying grass, there was not a trace of evidence that it had rained at all”

    Owen

    5 July 2016 at 9:41 am

  2. “Petrichor” is fairly recent. Wikipedia notes that it was coined in 1964. But it’s a handy term.

    LeisureGuy

    5 July 2016 at 9:53 am

  3. Challenging is a very thoughtful way to describe it.

    vmarks

    6 July 2016 at 6:16 am


Leave a Reply

