Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Starting the week well: G.B. Kent BK4, Van Yulay After Hours, iKon 102, and Bulgari

leave a comment »

SOTD 2016-07-11

My G.B. Kent BK4 is one of my favorite brushes, though the one on the cover of the Guide (shown at the right) is a BK8, which was my first Kent. I gradually realized that it was too large for my taste, replaced it with a BK4, which I love.

Van Yulay’s After Hours has a fragrance that strongly appeals to me. (YMMV, of course.) Since it contains clay, I add a little water as I load, and the lather I get is terrific.

Three passes with the redoubtable iKon 102 and I’m left with a perfectly smooth face. The iKon 102 remains one of my favorite razors, though again YMMV. But quite a few have reported that this razor works extremely well for them, and the head is just $45 (though you’ll need a hefty handle: I use the iKon Bulldog as shown in the photo, but the Maggard MR11 or MR 20 would work as well).

A good splash of Bulgari as an aftershave, and the week is well launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

11 July 2016 at 8:56 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

