Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Fine shave with the Wunderbar (and Achilles and the Omega soft boar)

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-07-13

The Omega 21762 is one of my favorite boar brushes, but note that I like a soft brush rather than a scrubby brush. This one has not a jot of scrub to it, but it feels great on my face, as soft as a Plissoft but with a different feel.

I took my time loading: not only does the 21762 have a large knot, this Van Yulay soap contains clay so I find I must add small amounts of water during the loading, working the water into the brush and repeating. I could see the soap moving up the knot from the tips as I loaded, and once I had enough soap, I truly enjoyed working he lather up on my face, enjoying both feel and fragrance. I do like the Van Yulay line. I’m mystified why I hadn’t heard of them, given the quality of their soaps and the convenience of their samples. The fragrance of their Achilles:

Tobacco with the perfect amount of Kentucky bourbon, hints of cherry, notes of vanilla, of rosewood, cedar, smoke, and sweet birch. [“Kentucky bourbon” is redundant, like “French champagne” or “Scotch made in Scotland.” Update: see comments below – LG]

The ingredients:

Stearic Acid, Coconut Fatty Acid, Palm Stearic, Castor, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Tobacco Tea, Aloe Vera, Coconut-Emu-Tallow-Meadow Foam-Borage-Argan Oils, Kentucky Bourbon, Sodium Lactate, Herbal Ground Tea, Calendula, Extracts, Poly Quats, Allantoin, Silica, Bentonite Clay, Glycerin Soap, Tobacco Absolute, Mica, and Fragrance.

At the link she discusses the properties of some of the ingredients. You’ll note that this is a tallow soap.

Having done good prep with a good soap, I picked up the Wunderbar to give it another go. This time I focused on the pressure and keeping it very light, and I had a fine shave: BBS with no nicks at all. I may have just been pressing too hard. The Wunderbar seems, like the iKon B1 and stainless slants, to require extremely light pressure. (The 102 and the X3 are not so pressure-sensitive—and I do note that the catalog listing for the production version of the X3 (I have a prototype) is up on the iKon site, though it has not yet been activated: it shows “out of stock,” but that should change in a day or two.)

I was quite pleased with the Wunderbar today. For me, it turns out to have a learning curve.

A small dot of Soap Smooth’s complimentary special edition aftershave balm, and we’re ready for the day. (That’s the editorial “we,” not the royal.)

 

Written by LeisureGuy

13 July 2016 at 10:34 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually, “Kentucky bourbon” isn’t redundant. Bourbon, according to the BTAF rules, can be made anywhere in the US, so long as it meets the legal requirements for mashbill formula (at least 51% corn), distillation proof (no higher than 160), aging (a minimum of two years in new, charred oak barrels) and bottling proof (at least 80). Bourbon is, in fact,made in a number of locations other than Kentucky. For example, a company known as Midwest Grain Products operates a very large distillery (the former Seagram’s distillery) in Lawrenceburg, Indiana that produces large quantities of bourbon that is sold to and bottled by a number of NDPs (non-distiller producers) in various parts of the country. This whiskey is legally bourbon and is labelled as such, but cannot say “Kentucky” on the label. It is true that most, but not all, bourbon is produced in Kentucky, therefore “Kentucky” is a meaningful distinction on a bourbon label.

    Spang

    15 July 2016 at 10:12 pm

  2. Very interesting. I wonder whether that is a change. For example, Jack Daniels was at one time careful not to say it was a bourbon, but a Tennessee sour-mash whiskey. I can understand why whiskey makers would like to be able to say that their non-Kentucky products were bourbon, but I had understood the appellation was carefully controlled, like various wine appellations are in France. Thanks for enlightening me.

    Will Rogers said that it wasn’t the things we didn’t know that hurt us, but the things we did know that weren’t so. I’ve “known” for a long time that bourbon had to be made in Kentucky, but apparently the terms was never restricted to that state. More information on the legal requirements can be found in Wikipedia. I never looked because I already “knew.”

    As I think about it, I believe I got the misinformation around the time I went to college, with Jack Daniels used to show how a non-Kentucky whiskey of the same nature did not call itself “bourbon,” and somehow that was convincing.

    Again, thanks. The pleasure of learning something new helps alleviate the chagrin of being so smugly wrong.

    LeisureGuy

    16 July 2016 at 6:36 am


Leave a Reply

