Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Midnight Stag and the 102

leave a comment »

SOTD 2016-07-18

Midnight Stag by Chiseled Face has an interesting fragrance:

Russian Leather, Motor Oil, Hoppes #9, Birch Tar, Oakmoss, Gasoline, Smoke, Cedar, Cade, Bergamont, Vanilla

And the ingredients are solid:

Stearic Acid, Aloe Vera Juice, Potassium Hydroxide, Beef Tallow, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Glycerin, Fragrance, Mango Butter, Avocado Oil, Silk Powder

Not surprisingly, it makes a fine lather, requiring just a damp brush with no added water. In fact, I used the Fine Classic brush shown, and since it’s a synthetic it does require an extra shake or two to rid it of excess water. This morning one additional shake would have helped. This soap loads quite easily, so dampness is all that is required.

In a Wicked_Edge discussion I was exchanging comments with a man who values simplicity, and recommends just using Dial bath soap as a shaving soap in the interest of keeping things simple. Now, I don’t find that using separate soaps for bathing and shaving really adds much in the way of complication, and of course some are more comfortable than others with complication, but I was puzzled by the assertion that Dial soap is all that simple. Here are the ingredients for Dial anti-bacterial bar soap:

Active ingredients: Triclocarban; Inactive Ingredients: Sodium Cocoate, Sodium Palm Kernelate (Palm Kernel Oil), Sodium Palmate, Sodium Tallowate, Water, Talc, Coconut Acid, Palm Acid, Tallow Acid, Palm Kernel Acid, PEG 6 Methyl Ether, Fragrance, Gly

To my eye, the Chiseled Face soap I used this morning is simpler than Dial—and I suspect it’s better for shaving, though I’ve not tried shaving with Dial.

The shave with my iKon 102 was excellent, as it always is with that razor. My production X3 should arrive today or tomorrow, and I’ll be comparing that with the 102 and with the prototype X3 I have.

A good splash of Midnight Stag aftershave, and I’m ready for the week. I note that Midnight Stg, like Summer Storm, includes menthol, but it feels as though Midnight Stag has less.

Written by LeisureGuy

18 July 2016 at 8:15 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

