Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Nanny’s Silly Soap, The Copper Hat brush, and the excellent Dorco PL-602

with 4 comments

SOTD 2016-07-27

I was exchaing emails with a reader who has a razor with a Delrin handle, which reminded me of my brush with a Delrin handle that I bought at The Copper Hat in Victoria BC. It’s an extremely nice brush, and I like the look of it and the feel in the hand. Delrin is a very tough plastic often used to make gears, and it is denser than one would expect.

I haven’t had any of Nanny’s Silly Soap for a while, but recently got this tub, which is White Grape and Bamboo. It’s a pleasant light fragrance, and the lather is good.

A commenter yesterday mentioned how much he likes his Dorco PL-602, which prompted me to use mine this morning. It is an extremely comfortable and extremely efficient shave. Indeed, it reminds of the wonderful RazoRock Baby Smooth, now no longer available, and on looking at the head I see that it produces the same extreme curve in the blade that the Baby Smooth does. That may account for some of the excellence in its feel and performance. I recommend this razor highly, and at less than $5, it’s not a big risk.

A good splash of Chiseled Face Summer Storm aftershave finished the shave on a fine note. The petrichor fragrance of the aftershave was quite evident—more evident than when I used it following a shave with Summer Storm shaving soap, presumably because this time the fragrance did not repeat the fragrance of the soap and so stuod out more sharply. It does have menthol, and that kicked in just after I left the bathroom: a kind of delayed reaction.

Great shave. Good products do make a difference.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 July 2016 at 11:10 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As much blade curvature as a Gillette Red Tip??

    Larry

    27 July 2016 at 1:09 pm

  2. I would say so. Take a look:

    Three razors

    LeisureGuy

    27 July 2016 at 1:32 pm

  3. I’m curious if you use your Dorco fully tightened, or do you “adjust” it (i.e. make it a little more aggressive) by backing off the handle a bit? I’ve noticed that the handle is actually marked with alignment dots, which I assume is for this purpose.

    Spang

    27 July 2016 at 5:42 pm

  4. Yes, I think the razor is designed for a certain degree of justability by tightening it fully, then backing off a little—the same approach is used by the Progress and the Apollo Mikron. For me it is quite efficient fully tightened, so I don’t (have to) loosen it slightly.

    LeisureGuy

    27 July 2016 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

