Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Great shave with Meißner Tremonia, Edwin Jagger, and Chatillon Lux

with 7 comments

SOTD 2016-07-28

A wonderful shave today, right from the start. The Maggard 24mm brush still feels a bit large to me—I really do like the 22mm better—but I soldiered on against this adversity. The handle is very nice indeed, both attractive and cofortable, and the knot feels very nice (if a bit large) on my face, and its performance leaves nothing to be desired.

It immediately worked up a great lather from Meißner Tremonia’s Lavender de Luxe, and I have to say that the MT soaps are among my favorites: expensive ($25/tub) but IMO worth it. The fragrance also was wonderful, but this is not a soap where one must compromise on lather to enjoy the fragrance: both are (for me) wonderful.

Because the Maggard brush is both largish and synthetic, I was very careful to give it two good shakes to remove excess water, and I think one additional mediocre shake would have been in order. Still, the lather was thick and fragrant and got the shave (and the day) off to a great start.

I got into a discussion with a guy on Wicked Edge who commented about “overly-mild razors like DE89 or Merkur HD, that simply do not work for everyone. They might work if you are 16 years old or you don’t have too much facial hair. In the end, you pay some money for something that you would replace a few months later because you can’t really get good shaves constantly.” While it’s true that nothing in shaving works for everyone, and some doubtless do have beards that are easier to shave with a slant or a SR or an SE, I would not describe the Edwin Jagger as “overly mild.” It is indeed a comfortable razor, but it is also, in my experience, quite efficient and (as I found out in this shave) more efficient than the Merkur HD (the 34C).

So I decided to use an Edwin Jagger razor this morning, and I particularly like the model shown, which is the DE86RC14BL, which has a rubber-coated handle. Three passes easily produced a BBS finish. The EJ head is indeed “mild” in the sense of being comfortable, but it is also “aggressive” in the sense of efficiently removing stubble: a fine little razor.

A good splash of Chatillon Lux Champs de Lavande, to continue the lavender theme, and I’m feeling uplifted for the day ahead.

Written by LeisureGuy

28 July 2016 at 9:46 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bothe the EJ and Standard head shave me well & comfortably, but leave me with some razor burn in the same spot every time. Still, using them.

    Larry

    28 July 2016 at 5:44 pm

  2. Any idea of the cause of the problem (e.g., weird grain of beard)?

    LeisureGuy

    28 July 2016 at 5:54 pm

  3. New to safety razor shaving. I am very happy with my Maggard V3 head on a Utopia Care handle. Would I likely see any improvement with an Edwin Jagger?

    John Perry

    29 July 2016 at 6:44 am

  4. Yes! whiskers in the burn zone grow in the horizontal, everywhere else they’re vertical.

    Larry

    29 July 2016 at 10:09 am

  5. @ John Perry: No, that would not be any improvement: the V3 is a (good) knockoff of the Edwin Jagger design. I found the V2OC slightly more comfortable and slightly more efficient, but if you want a real step up, I suggest the iKon X3 along with one of the stainless steel handles, such as the iKon Bulldog or the Maggard MR11 or MR20.

    UPDATE: I suddenly recalled that the X3 head is within a gram of the weight of the Edwin Jagger head, so it will work on the EJ handle you already have.

    LeisureGuy

    29 July 2016 at 10:20 am

  6. Thanks for the help. Love your website.

    John Perry

    29 July 2016 at 10:42 am

  7. Thank you, John Perry.🙂

    If you do get the X3, I’ll be very interested in your impressions. Note these three pointers.

    LeisureGuy

    29 July 2016 at 10:50 am


Leave a Reply

