Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Small pleasures can be pretty great

with 2 comments

I just have had an industrious morning of the sort that a retired person might have: shopping for food (and with an eye to future one-pot meals, picking up things like fresh fennel, red cabbage, bell peppers, scallions, lemons, lamb flank and lamb shoulder steaks and pork shops and the like), then going to Staples for a couple of reams of paper; then to Whole Foods for more cooking goodies (a smaller (i.e., one-pint) bottle of olive oil to receive Enzo’s Lemon Olive Oil, a gallon of which I will order, good mushrooms, peeled garlic, sheep- and goat-milk feta, and lamb sausage (Mergeza and Istanbul) for one-pot meals); then to Wild Bird Haven for 10 lbs bird seed (“eating like bird” turns out to mean “being a total glutton”); then to Ocean Sushi for a nice bunch of sushi along with seaweed salad and pickled things (including daikon radish), along with some sake; then home to a bunch of packages inluding a 25-lb kettlebell for some exercises to combat sciatica (here and here). One of the causes listed is too much sitting, and that does match my own habits.

At any rate, the morning felt productive, and I enjoyed my sushi. I get only sashimi because of low-carb, but I also get nigori sake (also here) as a kind of balance.

Now I’m back home and feeling for the moment that life is pretty good. And a one-pot meal tonight.🙂

Written by LeisureGuy

28 July 2016 at 2:17 pm

Posted in Daily life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also have had low back issues for years. Regular exercise helped tremendously, especially core focused exercises, but I was aware that frequent prolonged sessions sitting at a computer was not doing me any good. I started using a stand-up desk (http://www.varidesk.com/) and found that made a huge difference. Takes a few weeks to adapt but I would never go back.

    Owen

    28 July 2016 at 3:25 pm

  2. I’ve heard excellent things about stand-up desks and in fact used one when I was Director of Admissions at St. John’s College, but that was before sciatica. Still, a very nice desk.

    LeisureGuy

    28 July 2016 at 3:45 pm


Leave a Reply

