Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Vie-Long brush with Pink Grapefruit and the 102

with 3 comments

SOTD 2016-08-01

I’m going to interrupt my Meißner Tremonia progression to use a couple of samples a reader kindly sent to me: LASSC’s Black Fern and Bufflehead’s Fifth Season. But today I wanted to use my other Meißner Tremonia’s shaving paste, Pink Grapefruit. I somehow had expected the fragrance to be sweet and citrus, but the experience of it is quite different. I think the eucalyptus removes any sweetness and directs the citrus in a new direction. At any rate, it’s a very attractive fragrance, and the lather, as always with Meißner Tremonia, is excellent. Today I used a Vie-Long horsehair brush to make the lather, and I very much enjoyed the feel of the brush: horsehair is not prickly, but it’s somewhat rougher/coarser than badger or the synthetics I use, and it does a very nice job with the lather.

As I continue paring down my collection of razors, I am of course determining which to keep, and the iKon Shavecraft 102 is for me most definitely a keeper: very easy and comfortable shave, no problems at all, and a perfect BBS result. What’s not to like?

A splash of Pinaud Classic Vanilla and the day, week, and month are well launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 August 2016 at 8:22 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not sure about the X3 it seems to me that the blade exposure is not sufficient to allow the cutting edge to remove the beard I can still feel rough patches under my jaw line even after a 4 pass shave which I do every day. To get to a BBS finish requires several polishing strokes which tends to leave my face feeling a bit raw. I’ve tried several different blades with the same result. Personally I feel that the 102 is superior in performance but I’ll persevere a little longer, perhaps trying a longer handle which I prefer.

    Tony The Blade

    1 August 2016 at 12:31 pm

  2. Also play with the angle a bit. I’ve had no problems getting smooth results easily with the X3, though of course my face is a different shape and doubtless beard grain differs as well.

    LeisureGuy

    1 August 2016 at 12:37 pm

  3. I’ll persevere a little longer I’m thinking that the longer handle will help with the angle. I’ve noticed that the razor the way I’m using it doesn’t leave a clean trail behind it which suggests you may be right about the angle I’m using.. I’ll look back at your blade width chart and try one of the blades with the larger width that may help.

    Tony The Blade

    1 August 2016 at 11:02 pm


Leave a Reply

