Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Bufflehead soap, Kent BK4, iKon X3, and a nasty cut

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-08-02

A really great shave except—well, we’ll get into that. Greatness first, is my motto.

The Kent BK4 is a terrific brush, and it comes in a cylindrical red leatherette box with gold edgings that makes a great presentation for a gift. The silvertip brush is soft and effective and this morning made a wonderful lather from a sample of Bufflehead’s Fifth Season shaving soap that a kind reader sent to me. It’s in the small container, and I took some of it out and pressed it into the bottom of the bowl shown to simplifying loading the brush.

The loading was easy and the fragrance was extremely nice, though I couldn’t quite place it. It in fact did not have a “summer” smell, or “spring” or “fall” or “winter,” so by default it is indeed a fifth seasonal smell.

With a pleasant and effective prep, the shave was easy. This is the prototype X3, though I don’t really note any difference from the production X3, and the resulting shave left my face BBS.

I used a little of the Speick EDT (sprayed into the palm of my hand) as the aftershave, since it has a more enduring fragrance: very pleasant indeed. As I noted earlier, I was surprised to learn that Speick is a flower, not a person.

The cut: you’ll notice that the razor is in the bowl. In my Guide, I failed to state that one should pick up a razor by the handle, not the head, but if I ever produce another edition (very unlikely), I’ll certainly add that advice. I picked up the razor by the head, intending to hold it by the guard, but instead held it by the edge of the blade, which is too thin for a good grip, so the blade slid along my left thumb. My! did it bleed. Two bandages later, all is under control. I doubt that I was in any danger of bleeding out, by the sleeve of my pyjamas had several big blood drops on it. A quick rinse in cold water (hot water will set blood so that it’s difficult to remove) and then a little rinse in ammonia (which removes bloodstains effectively), and the pyjamas are now in better shape than my thumb.

A lesson learned the hard way: “Experience keeps a dear school, but fools will learn in no other.” – B. Franklin

A second lesson: it’s possible to shave pretty well one-handed if it’s your dominant hand, including pre-shave beard wash, rinsing, etc.

Written by LeisureGuy

2 August 2016 at 9:40 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ouch on the cut. My razor stand (and many others, I imagine) makes it hard to pick the razor up by the handle. You’ve basically got a horizontal board with a hole in it that you stick the handle through. I suppose I could lift it up through the hole and grab under the head with my other hand, but what I typically do is grab the razor head by the short (non blade) sides. It’s not without danger, but it seems relatively safe.

    Brian Trepka

    2 August 2016 at 10:04 am

  2. Sorry about that injury. The 102 head really fits my needs and is easy to grab on the sides where the tabs of the blade are covered. Sticking with the Art Deco look too.!

    Larry

    2 August 2016 at 11:39 am

  3. I’ll point out that I did grab on to the sides of the razor, just the wrong sides. It was a 50-50 chance: only two sides. I just got the wrong sides.

    LeisureGuy

    2 August 2016 at 11:54 am

  4. Where did you come across your green shave bowl. I’d love to find one like it.

    Michael

    2 September 2016 at 11:35 pm

  5. That’s one of a few bowls that my wife had from her parents, who got it in South Africa before she was born. Basically, it’s a small cereal bowl. We’re now down to the last two…

    LeisureGuy

    3 September 2016 at 4:38 am


Leave a Reply

