Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

iKon X3 on Edwin Jagger handle, and some RazoRock goodness

with 3 comments

SOTD 2016-08-03

I used my RazoRock synthetic badger, which performs and feels extremely well, with RazoRock’s Zi’ Peppino shaving soap, which has a great fragrances and lathers quite easily, making a fine lather.

The iKon X3 head is just 1g different in weight from the Edwin Jagger head, and it uses the same metric threading, so any EJ handle should work well with the X3 head. I put it to the test this morning, and it was so. It did have a different feel from the UFO stainless handle I normally use, obviously, but it was still well balanced and seemed quite all right.

Three easy passes to perfect smoothness: the X3 is remarkably good and if you’re tempted to get the head ($30-$35), go ahead and do it. You will not be disappointed, I think, though of course nothing in shaving works for everyone.

A splash of Zi’ Peppino aftershave, and all is well.

Yesterday afternoon I went into the bathroom and was horrified to see that bowl I had used with the Bufflehead soap seems to have filled with a mass of gauzy filaments, as though some mold had immediately taken over the damp soap. I have not used previously a soap made from duck fat, and my first thought was that somehow duck fat encouraged mold?

Shaving bowl of Bufflehead

I took a closer look and say that it was an illusion: not a three-dimensional web of gauzy filaments, but just the two-dimensional pattern made by the lather drying onto the surface of the bowl. But when you see the bowl in real life, the “mold” leaps out at you.

Written by LeisureGuy

3 August 2016 at 8:00 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Michael
    Why when you advertise your razors on ebay you exclude Australian buyers? That’s just silly because as you promote wet shaving you want to exclude overseas buyers! Not happy mate and you can’t seriously be a wet shaving advocate when you can not offer world wide. Your book is available and promoted world wide so why not your sales. double standards my friend!

    Bazza

    3 August 2016 at 9:28 am

  2. I’m sorry that restricting sales to the US displeases you. I actually am an advocate for wetshaving, and I think that is evident from the blog and book.

    Although you believe that one cannot be an advocate for wetshaving unless he is willing to ship his secondhand razors anywhere in the world, I don’t see that as true. I think you need to explain how you arrived at that conclusion, and I would also be interested in what specific “double standard” you are referring to.

    If you had simply asked for my reasons instead of launching into a rant, I would have explained: I don’t want to deal with customs forms and international shipping rates, and I anticipate I can find buyers here.

    LeisureGuy

    3 August 2016 at 9:38 am

  3. Michael, agree and understand. As we get older are aim should be to reduce hassle why complicate the sale when you have such a large market place in the US. There’s enough choice out there for the rest of us, I ended up with over 50 razors bought from both here in the UK and the US, but had to pay an admin fee and duty when purchased from your side of the pond it was far more complicated!

    Tony The Blade

    3 August 2016 at 2:08 pm


Leave a Reply

