Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

BBS with Gillette Fat Boy, after prep with Bufflehead

leave a comment »

SOTD 2016-08-04

This is the first time I’ve shaved with Bufflehead shaving soap and not cut a deep gash in my thumb. I’m just sayin’. Said gash is, BTW, totally healed now insofar as any discomfort. I can even press things with that thumb and not feel any pain, though the location of the cut is still visible. That will fade, but I’m surprised that the thumb feels fine so soon. I imagine that’s because it was a clean cut.

The Bufflehead soap has an odd appearance because this is from the batch that “seized,” but I believe that performance was unaffected. At any rate, I had no trouble getting a good lather with the Wet Shaving Products Baroness brush shown.

The Gillette Fat Boy shown has been replated with rhodium. I got a BBS result with no problem with it on a setting of “5,” which I worked up to over several months, starting with a setting of “3.” The “5” setting seems right for me, so I don’t do much exploring, and I don’t bother with changing the adjustment per pass.

I good splash for the sample of Chiseled Face’s Santa Paula Citrus aftershave:

An all natural blend of Petitgrain, Siberian Fir, Bitter Orange, Clary Sage, Litsea Cubeba, Siam Wood, and Cedar.

It definitely has a citrus kick, but it’s not a simple citrus scent: it has more going on and is quite pleasant. It does have a bit of menthol, but not too much: just a light cooling sensation that is not unpleasant.

Great shave.

Written by LeisureGuy

4 August 2016 at 9:51 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

