Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Return to the Phoenix shave: Honeysuckle soap, the Bakelite slant, and Cavendish aftershave

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-08-25

I kept thinking about the wonderful lather I got from Phoenix Artisan Honeysuckle shaving soap and just had to have more. The lather is really rich and creamy and my skin feels quite happy following the shave.

This morning I used the Omega Mixed Midget—boar and badger—a doughty little brush that does a fine job and holds plenty of lather. I wet the knot well before I shower because of the boar content, and the brush easily created another wonderful lather. I’m not buying soaps any more, not all that much, but I may have to get another tub of the Phoenix Artisan soap in a different fragrance. It really does strike me as exceptional.

Three easy passes with the prototype of the Phoenix bakelite slant: no problems, easy shave, perfect result.

A good splash of Cavendish, and we are well on our way to the weekend.

Written by LeisureGuy

25 August 2016 at 7:55 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree that the Phoenix Soaps are great. I have pretty much narrowed my rotation down to Club Guy and Bay Rum from Phoenix and MWF.

    Mike

    25 August 2016 at 11:27 am

  2. The head design looks identical to my Fasan open comb slant. It’s wonderful to see Doug reviving a great razor for the masses. IMO it is better than Fine Superlite and Wunderbar. I’m really excited that everyone can now experience the greatness of Fasan.

    Chris Mo

    26 August 2016 at 12:51 pm

  3. I had a Fasan slant, and I found that one to be very harsh. However, the comb design was not the same as the Phoenix slant (and thus not the same as yours). The teeth of my Fasan were triangular, unlike the teeth of the Phoenix slant, and the cap was ungrooved. You can see it here.

    LeisureGuy

    26 August 2016 at 12:58 pm

  4. My Fasan is different model than your Fasan and mine’s head looks exactly like this Phoenix. It’s not more aggressive than the Fine Superlite and actually bit smoother and forgiving. Do you know when will it be available from Phoenix?

    Chris Mo

    26 August 2016 at 1:07 pm

  5. I found the same with this razor: a bit smoother and more comfortable than the Fine. I do not have an availability date, but I would think it would be within a month. And certainly the price is right.

    LeisureGuy

    26 August 2016 at 1:12 pm


Leave a Reply

