Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Vie-Long brush and Dapper Dragon Tiamat, with the Dorco PL-602

with 6 comments

SOTD 2016-08-27

Dapper Dragon’s Tiamat shaving soap has a very nice fragrance to my nose, probably because of the presence of vanilla. The maker’s description: “Tiamat is a mixture of dragon’s blood and amber resins and vanilla, rounded out by subtle floral notes.”

I used a Vie-Long horsehair brush, wetting the knot well before I showered. The soap more or less leaps onto the brush: very little brushing loaded the brush well, and the lather I worked up on my face was thick, creamy, and fragrant. My enjoyment was quiet but intense.

The Dorco PL-602, that excellent razor, gave me a trouble-free BBS shave. Really, if you’ve not tried this razor, it’s worth getting: the price of a Starbucks latte, and one of the best-performing (and best-feeling) razors I have.

A good splash of Floris No. 89, and the weekend is upon us.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 August 2016 at 9:03 am

Posted in Shaving

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael, do you use the Dorco PL-602 all the way tightened down, or loose a quarter/ half of a turn?

    Ryan

    27 August 2016 at 9:56 am

  2. I use it tightened all the way, and in this case with a Gillette 7 O’Clock SharpEdge blade. I have read that others like it loosened a fraction of a turn.

    LeisureGuy

    27 August 2016 at 10:14 am

  3. How would you compare the Dorco with the Wilkinson Sword classic?

    Reynald

    27 August 2016 at 11:15 am

  4. The Dorco PL-602 is, for me, MUCH better, in terms of comfort and efficiency, than the Wilkinson Sword Classic. The Classic does weigh more.

    LeisureGuy

    27 August 2016 at 11:24 am

  5. I finally got around to trying the Dorco PL-602 today. I first attempted to shave with a Medline Surgical Prep Razor, but it was horrid. I gave up mid-shave and grabbed the Dorco and put a Red Pack Personna Blade in it. The Dorco has a very intuitive blade angle, and really puts a curve on the blade. I had it tightened all the way down, and it was just the right amount of aggression for an easy shave. I never once was tempted to back out the adjustment for more blade gap. It glided over my face without the hint of nicking. Very easy to use, and what an excellent suggestion of yours for newbies and the cognizant alike! I am going to keep a few of these around to PIF to friends to bring them over to the dark side. I will bring this along for travel with carry-on luggage, and just mail my DE Blades to my relatives ahead of time.

    Ryan

    31 August 2016 at 3:11 pm

  6. I use the same brands of blades that are best in my other razors, and that has worked well. I probably should try the Dorco blade that comes with it, but I haven’t. Surgical prep blades are generally not very sharp, I believe.

    This deal works out to just over $2/razor, and enough to hand out to friends, etc.

    LeisureGuy

    31 August 2016 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

