Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Simpson Emperor 2, Bufflehead Fletcher, and the Rockwell

with 7 comments

SOTD 2016-09-01

The Simpson Emperor 2 worked up a good lather from the seized batch of Fletcher soap by Bufflehead. I think I still need to try a regular batch for comparison.

The Rockwell today had the R4 baseplate: more blade feel than the R3 but still quite comfortable, and it had no problems producing a BBS result in three passes. A splash of Chiseled Face’s Easy Street, and we near the long weekend.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 September 2016 at 8:49 am

Posted in Shaving

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My best combo so far is the R3 with a Feather Blade, but I am still flirting with the R4 and other blade brands. I could have lived with just the R2 when coupled with Feathers, but the R3 was just right for me with that blade. The R5/R6 Baseplate will remain in the original box for my heirs. LOL.

    Ryan

    1 September 2016 at 9:30 am

  2. Lately I’ve found myself using the R4 for two weeks before considering I’ve neglected my other razors. At this point I could almost sell all my other gear and be satisfied with the Rockwell set.

    middlesmith

    1 September 2016 at 9:34 am

  3. I have been using R3 with a Feather blade for the past several months with great success. Dabbled with R4 and R2 for a while but had a Goldilocks experience (one too “sharp” and the other too “dull”). Only once peered into the abyss with R5/R6. Quickly scurried back to lower numbers. All in all the Rockwell is a wonderfully designed tool. It has caused me to neglect all of my other razors, except possibly the slant Ikon #102.

    Owen

    1 September 2016 at 11:39 am

  4. I’m giving SE’s one last shot with the new Colonial Razors General and the RazoRock Hawk. If they don’t work out then I’ll go back to the Rockwell DE and just settle in, keeping an eye out only for a legacy brush or two.

    Ron

    1 September 2016 at 12:25 pm

  5. I’ve found some SEs that work well, but I find that I prefer the DE format—for lather capacity, along with the variety of brands of blades available.

    LeisureGuy

    1 September 2016 at 12:48 pm

  6. Based on your advice, I got the Rockwell, and ever since it arrived I’ve loved the shaves it provides while my Super Speed has been consigned to the medicine cabinet. The R4 + Feather blades combination works out especially well for me. Thank you so much for your recommendation!

    Colin Macdonald

    1 September 2016 at 5:28 pm

  7. You’re welcome, and I’m delighted that it has worked so well. It really is a superb razor.

    LeisureGuy

    1 September 2016 at 5:35 pm


Leave a Reply

