Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Crown King superfatted shaving soap and Phoenix Artisan Bakelite slant

with one comment

SOTD 2016-09-10

The brush is the RazoRock Artificial Badger from Italian Barber, and a very nice brush it is, too. The fibers are as soft and resilient as Plissoft, but differ in appearance.

I have mentioned that I am impressed with the Phoenix Artisan soaps I have used recently, particularly in the quality of the lather and how good they make my skin feel after the shave. I’m told that they use a superfatted formula, with some additional oils added post-saponification, and I believe some other soap makers do this as well. It’s just that I particularly noticed it in the Phoenix Artisan soap for some reason. The ingredients in Phoenix Artisan soaps made according to his current (version 3) formula:

Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate, Aqua, Potassium Kokumate, Sodium Lactate, Potassium Shea Butterate, Potassium Castorate, Sodium Stearate, Potassium Avocadoate, Parfum [Fragrance]

His Crown King soaps use the same ingredients but in addition have cocoa butter:

Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate, Aqua, Potassium Kokumate, Sodium Lactate, Potassium Shea Butterate, Potassium Castorate, Sodium Stearate, Potassium Cocoa Butterate, Potassium Avocadoate, Parfum [Fragrance]

Both soaps are well worth trying. If you have very oily skin, you may not care for them, but men with dry or normal skin will like them, and during winter I think everyone would like them given how dry indoor air is in very cold weather.

The Crown King soap I used today is Alt-11, whose fragrance is based on the tobacco flower, just as is that of Alt Innsbruck. And indeed the soap does have a wonderful fragrance. It’s a very nice soap—and I’m pleased to see that Crown King also has that seasonal favorite, Pumpkin 3.14.

With my face well lathered, I picked up my Phoenix Bakelite slant and set to work. I didn’t really detect any difference between this production model and the prototype, but perhaps I will in a side-by-side shave. At any rate, I found this to be quite a good slant for me, and at the price it’s an enormous bargain.

Three passes, a BBS result with no problems or nicks, and then a splash of Phoenix Artisan Sandalwood aftershave.

Altogether, a great way to start the weekend.

Written by LeisureGuy

10 September 2016 at 7:58 am

Posted in Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. IMO you can’t go wrong with PAA or CK. By far some of the best shaving products in the wet-shaving market these days. Love everything I’ve used from their line-ops. Great shave by the way, Sir!

    Jack Cohiba

    10 September 2016 at 9:43 am


Leave a Reply

