Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Chili discovery: Beef, not pork

leave a comment »

I like to make chili, a primitive sort of dish for which the butchering/carving instructions are “cut the meat into small pieces.” I use my own mix of spices, with emphasis on ground ancho peppers, ground cumin, smoked paprika, Mexican oregano (lots), and thyme. Unsweetened 100% cacao chocolate and finely-ground coffee are among the ingreidents.

At any rate, I made one recently using both pork and beef, and it revealed that, really, beef is the only good choice. I buy boneless chuck roasts, ideally with a good strip of fat, and cut it by hand into little chunks. Besides the tomatoes I also add 2 Tbsp vinegar (red-wine vinegar or sherry vinegar, usually) to up the acidity.

It makes quite a tasty chili. I also use tomatillos and green peppers. And onion, lots of onion: most recently a mix of scallions, shallots, and red onion, along with garlic. And I add 1.5 Tbsp liquid smoke, and about the same for soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce.

Written by LeisureGuy

12 September 2016 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

