Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Fine shave with Van Der Hagen/Weishi/Micro One Touch

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-09-15

Despite my recommendation against the razor shown, I got a perfectly fine shave today using it, though I think it would have been difficult if I had a thicker beard. My beard, though, is well within the normal range, and after good prep and with an Astra Superior Platinum blade, I did get a very good final result.

It’s odd, because I still don’t like the razor all that much: the corners of the head tend to poke my face, and of course there’s no swapping of handles. And, to a degree, it feels flimsy.But certainly a good result is possible.

I used Van Yulay’s Puros de Habana again, and though the last thing on earth that I need is more shaving soap, I’m tempted to get a tub. It really does nail the fragrance of a humidor filled with fine cigars. (In college, I favored H. Uppmann cigars, but that was long before the Cuban embargo.)

The lather is excellent in performance as well as in fragrance, and the Wee Scot held plenty of lather for the shave. Three passes with the Van Der Hagen, a final rinse and dry, and then a good splash of Cavendish to carry on the tobacco theme.

I’ll have to moderate my tone somewhat regarding this razors. But it still will not make my list of recommended razors.

Written by LeisureGuy

15 September 2016 at 9:31 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It shaves well with a Feather blade.

    Larry

    15 September 2016 at 9:34 am

  2. Is that the more recent formulation of the soap? Their website states “Van Yulay Has changed this scent to a more smokey cigar scent. Please take note.”.

    Rich

    15 September 2016 at 1:51 pm

  3. Yes, it is. I had tried the earlier formulation, and gave the fragrance one “meh”, though the lather was excellent, as seems typical of Van Yulay. I read about the new formulation and got this sample, and it’s very nice. I also want to get Espresso, which I’ve read is pure coffee (no cream, no sugar).

    LeisureGuy

    15 September 2016 at 2:51 pm

  4. Thanks. I was hoping it was the new formulation. Always on the lookout for a scent reminiscent of an old time pipe tobacco shop. The inclusion of cedar was intriguing. The Espresso scent sounds good as well. The smell of coffee beans, without any supporting cast, would be quite pleasant.

    Rich

    16 September 2016 at 7:22 am

  5. I would characterize Puros de Habana as a cigar smell rather than a pipe-tobacco small. For the latter, see Phoenix Artisan Cavendish. As you see from the post, they sell a matching aftershave.

    LeisureGuy

    16 September 2016 at 9:05 am


Leave a Reply

