Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Cooking notes & discoveries

leave a comment »

I’m make this recipe, which made me discover that diced salt pork is a substitute for diced pancetta and about 1/4 the cost. UPDATE: Wrong! Salt pork is way too salty to eat: when the recipe says discard what’s left after rendering the salt pork (which takes longer than you might think), do it.

And I’m using Patrika Recipe Manager (multi-platform), which I’m liking a lot. With the edit mode I can fix recipes: making changes to the on-line version. For example, in this recipe it calls for 4 tablespoons of Pommery mustard, but it turns out that you use 1 Tbsp at one point and 3 Tbsp at another, so I changed the ingredients list to reflect that, and putting the revised entries in the list of ingredients in order of use in the recipe, so in fact the two are well separated.

And that brings me to Pommery mustard. It’s just whole-grain mustard, though a particular brand that’s been made for centuries. But I think any good whole-grain mustard would work as well. I suppose I’ll find out: I still have a lot of Pommery mustard left to use.

UPDATE: The trick in this recipe is to know when to add which mustards when. I suggest measuring out everything in advance and group by step. I want to make it again to get mustard sequence right. I also added the first 2 Tbsp (1 oz) butter too early: it should be added after onions are removed.

Written by LeisureGuy

18 September 2016 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

