Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Update on my using Paprika Recipe Manager

with 6 comments

Paprika Recipe Manager is offered on a variety of platforms, including smartphones, and can use the cloud to keep the database in synch across your devices. But I’m an old fuddy-duddy and just use a Macbook, so I paid $20 to get it.

The problem, as TYD pointed out, is that I have scores if not hundreds of Recipes in Word documents, including a couple of documents that are recipe collections, though many of them are single-recipe documents: a page that I print when I want to make it.

So how to do the conversion? Paprika does have an import capability, but I didn’t even look at that. I’m sure it has specific format requirements, etc. So here’s how I’m doing it: When I discover a new recipe, I capture it into Paprika Recipe Manager. I no longer keep a Word document (though I still have those old ones), so the Paprika recipe is it. I immediately edit it to assign a category and make any changes I want. Then, when I want to cook it, I use the very nice print function on Paprika to print it.

So all new recipes go into Paprika directly. And then each time I make an old recipe, I first enter it into Paprika (and with copy-paste it’s a cinch) and then print it from there. So old recipes are gradually brought over, and in a logical order: popularity.

Sometimes I take a food photo, since Paprika can show a photo with recipe title. I did that when I brought over Shari’s Chicken Marinade (which I’ve blogged).

I’m very happy with the program. It’s by far the best recipe database I’ve used. They finally got it right: memetic evolution in action.

UPDATE: You create the categories to which a recipe can be assigned, and the categories are check boxes, not radio buttons, so you check all the categories to which a recipe might belong. A single recipe thus might be in the categories “Snack,” “Lunch,” “Halloween,” “Uncle Ted,” and “Low-carb.” When you click “All recipes” you see it once; if you click any  category, you see all recipes in that category.

Here’s my current main page in Paprika. You’ll note the recipes are in alphabetic order. BTW, when the menu mentions a time (“simmer 10 minutes,” for example), Paprika highlights the time (“10 minutes”) and if you click it, a countdown timer (set at 10 minutes in this example) pops up. Not so useful on my computer, but nice if you’re using an iPad or smartphone.

screen-shot-2016-09-23-at-6-38-36-am

Written by LeisureGuy

22 September 2016 at 7:52 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve used index cards, text-file printouts, HyperCard, FileMaker, pdfs, and was in the middle of researching WordPress themes for creating online recipes when I read your post about Paprika. So far, I’m delighted with it. However, one obvious area for improvement lies in the Category mechanism. Unless I’m missing something, there’s no clean way of assigning a recipe to multiple categories. While that makes sense with index cards it will quickly become a limitation as the number of recipes grows. All in all though, I think Paprika is a terrific program.

    Colin Macdonald

    22 September 2016 at 11:59 pm

  2. Good that you put in the qualifier: you can in fact assign a recipe to as many categories as you want (they are check boxes, not radio buttons), and you can easily add categories as needed. I already have a couple of recipes that are shown in two categories (one in “snack” and “veg,” the other in “snack” and “dinner”). I can easily see that the category lis might include (say) “Thanksgiving” or other holiday, and perhaps the names of people who particularly like the dish (so if they are visiting, you can look at the category “Uncle Ted” to see recipes worth considering for him).

    LeisureGuy

    23 September 2016 at 6:29 am

  3. I have no idea why I didn’t see that it could do multiple categories, but of course you’re correct. This is a really well thought out program.

    Colin Macdonald

    23 September 2016 at 9:19 am

  4. Navigation and operation buttons, though, are around the edges of the main display window, so I didn’t see them at first. But as I learn it, the program flows smoothly. A good purchase, IMO.

    LeisureGuy

    23 September 2016 at 10:00 am

  5. Today I used it again, and I discovered how effective the recipe scaling is. The recipe as entered is “Scale 1x”. I made a hummus recipe and, though tasty, it was just too large a volume for my little Kitchenaid food processor. I changed to “Scale 1/2x” and all the measurements were halves. (I know there will be other adjustments, but just that step is helpful.)

    And then I was considering the lamb meatballs recipe, and it calls for 1 lb of ground lamb. My supermarket sells ground lamb only in 12-oz packages. Two of those, though, are 24 oz = 1.5 lbs. I adjusted the recipe: “Scale 1.5x” and everything was adjusted.

    In the list view you can adjust difficulty level (easy, medium, hard, or no comment).

    It’s really a terrific little program. A lot of experience is reflected in the design and capabilities.

    LeisureGuy

    23 September 2016 at 4:11 pm

  6. Just had another insight: I added categories Beef, Chicken, Lamb, Pork, Shrimp, Fish so that I can easily view all recipes in each category. Obviously, I check these categories only for appropriate recipes, but it does seem it will be helpful to be able to view, for example, all the chicken recipes when I’m in the mood for chicken.

    LeisureGuy

    24 September 2016 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

