Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

The RazoRock Old Type is a terrific razor—and costs $15

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-09-27

This morning I again noted the excellence of the RazoRock Old Type ($15 from Italian Barber): a very comfortable and very efficient razor. I have not used the Gillette Old Type, but from what I’ve read, the RazoRock Old Type is much more comfortable. The RazoRock Old Type would be a very good razor for the novice, particularly a novice who wants a metal razor (thus not the Dorco PL602, an excellent razor though made of plastic (and costs $6.75 for two on eBay, including shipping) but doesn’t want to spend $30 to see how DE shaving will work for him.

Of course, prep is always important, and today I used Wet Shaving Products Formula T Tobacco and got a very good lather using the Fine Classic brush. The fragrance is somewhat muted, but nothing wrong with the lather.

Three passes with the Old Type and my face was BBS without even the threat of a nick. A good splash of Chiseled Face Trade Winds aftershave from the sample shown and I’m ready for the day.

Written by LeisureGuy

27 September 2016 at 9:04 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I own the RazoRock Old Type, but I have not tried it yet. Mine has the newer handle. I’ll give it a spin this week. I have tried the RazoRock Teck II which is a wonderful razor. I think of the Teck II as a poor man’s Feather AS-D2, as it shaves somewhat similarly at a fraction of the cost.


    27 September 2016 at 10:19 am

  2. I gave it a try today, and the RazoRock Old Type gave me an excellent shave. I found it to be on the mild side, and it required a few more touch ups than usual, but that might have just been the blade I used. I also have a Merkur 1904 Open Comb, and I like the RazoRock much better. I had a 48 hour stubble, and it mowed it down with aplomb. Open Comb Razor’s remind me of my rural ancestors in the dust bowl, and how they likely didn’t shave every day. Much in the same vein, that the Gillette Guard is marketed to Indian Men today.


    28 September 2016 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

