Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Maggard slant and Phoenix Artisan Honeysuckle

with 4 comments


I do like Phoenix Artisan soaps, as it turns out, and the Honeysuckle is a very pleasant summer fragrance, enjoyable even in early fall, as it turns out.

The Wee Scot did its usual yeoman job, and I set to work with the Maggard slant. Although the head looks a lot like the iKon X3 head, I get considerably more blade feel from the Maggard, and today that included 4 nicks by the end of the second pass. I chickened out and finished the shave with the X3, which for me is much less prone to nicking.

A splash of Barrister & Mann Classic, and the weekend is launched.

I think next week I will avoid any razor that is the least bit touchy: only pure comfort for a while: the X3, Baby Smooth, PL602, and the like—razors that never bite.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 October 2016 at 10:49 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I could probably alternate between the X3 and SC 102 for the rest of my life.


    1 October 2016 at 2:04 pm

  2. I think it’s coming to that. I am resuming my sell-off in mid November.


    1 October 2016 at 2:16 pm

  3. Is PAA a melt and pour?


    1 October 2016 at 8:14 pm

  4. I’m not sure what you mean. Thee soap seems to have been in liquid form when it was poured into the container, so the “pour” part is certainly true, but I don’t think it’s what is usually called a “melt and pour” soap, since so far as I know those are glycerin soaps often from vendors like this one. You’ll note the ingredients at that link:

    Coconut Oil, Palm Oil, Safflower Oil, Glycerin (kosher, of vegetable origin), Aqua/Water/Eau, Sodium Hydroxide (saponifying agent), Sorbitol (moisturizer), Propylene Glycol (of vegetable origin), Sorbitan oleate (emulsifier), Oat protein (conditioner), Wheat Protein (conditioner)

    or, equivalently:

    Cocos Nucifera, Elaeis Guineensis Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius Oil, Glycerin, Aqua/Water/Eau, Sodium Hydroxide, Sorbitol, Propylene Glycol, Sorbitan Oleate, Avena Sativa Protein Extract, Triticum Vulgare Protein Extract

    Phoenix Artisan soap has these ingredients:

    Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Cocoate, Aqua, Potassium Kokumate, Sodium Lactate, Potassium Shea Butterate, Potassium Castorate, Sodium Stearate, Potassium Avocadoate, Parfum [Fragrance]

    As I’ve commented elsewhere, for some reason this really makes my skin feel good. I suspect it’s the oils—Kokum butter, Shea butter, Castor oil, and Avocado oil. That would seem to go with the soft smoothness of my skin after the shave.


    1 October 2016 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

