Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Hacking shaving soap fragrances

with one comment


Stirling Soap Company provides samples as full-diameter pucks roughly 3/8″ thick. Someone brought up the idea of stacking the samples in the tub so the fragrance would gradually change as you worked through the soaps.

It occurred to me that one could halve the sample pucks and put two half-moons of soap into a tin and get the combined fragrance when lathering. Looking over the list of soaps, I thought these combinations sounded worth a try:

Bay Rum + Texas on Fire
Electric Sheep + Almond Crème
Sharp-Dressed Man + Executive Man

I’m not sure these will work well together, so I’ll test. And this morning I tested the first combination.

I started with a half-moon of each soap, Texas on Fire and Bay Rum, but the ToF fragrance just swamped the Bay Rum, so I halved the ToF and added more Bay Rum, as the photo shows.

This seems to work reasonably well: the Texas on Fire aroma is still quite distinct, but now you can detect the Bay Rum. I could probably trim back the ToF a bit more.

Just fooling around, but I thought you might find it interesting to try with fragrances that you like and seem as though they might blend well.

Written by LeisureGuy

2 October 2016 at 10:09 am

Posted in Shaving

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do the same with MWF and PdP No.63.

    Chris Mo

    6 October 2016 at 2:20 pm

Leave a Reply

