Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Pierre Franey’s Chicken Breasts with Lemon

leave a comment »

I made this recipe and I liked it a lot. I used boneless, skin-on chicken breasts, shaking them in a plastic bag with seasoned flour. I got the olive oil hot before adding the chicken (skin side down) and then just let it sit 5 minutes over medium heat, undisturbed. When I pushed them off the bottom with a wooden spatula, they didn’t stick at all.

I like using the fresh thyme springs: I don’t like fooling with the leaves, but just throw in the spring since it’s easy to remove. And I think fresh thyme has a stronger/better flavor than dried, though it’s not like tarragon, where fresh tastes totally different from dried, at least for me.

I want to try substituting white wine for the chicken stock.

Either Franey pounds his chicken breasts thing, or he likes them very rare. I suggest covering the pan and simmering for 15-20 minutes after adding the butter; the recipe calls for no cover and 3 minutes. Not enough.

Very tasty dish, and I used one of the breasts the next day to make a chicken salad.

Written by LeisureGuy

4 October 2016 at 2:34 pm

Posted in Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

