Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Still working at the Maggard slant, with The Drunken Goat, a Vie-Long horsehair brush, and Anthony Gold’s Red Cedar

with 3 comments

SOTD 2016-10-15

I do like this Vie-Long horsehair brush a lot, and it made a fine lather from Mickey Lee Soapworks The Drunken Goat (also the name of a cheese, but today I used the soap).

I’m having problems with the Maggard slant. Some slants work very well for me and seem easy to use, others are more challenging. The RazoRock Wunderbar was challenging enough that I sold it, and I’m thinking the Maggard may follow. The problem is a fair number of nicks despite shaving with my usual care. It might be the blade, of course. I started with a Personna Lab Blue, which tends to work well in my slants, but the nicks and cuts convinced me that it wasn’t working well with the Maggard slant.

So today I used an Astra Superior Platinum, and initially I thought I had the problem licked, but then in the XTG pass, the nicks started: four on my upper lip, two on my chin. That’s too many. I’m going to try a Derby blade next, and if the nicks continue, the razor will go. I have quite a few slants that never give me any problems, so I’ll stick with those. Note that YMMV applies even to razors, and I bet the Maggard slant works very well for some. Just not for me (so far).

A good splash of Anthony Gold’s Red Cedar aftershave from The Copper Hat in Victoria, and the weekend is launched.

Written by LeisureGuy

15 October 2016 at 9:06 am

Posted in Shaving

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You tamed the Merkur 37 which I consider at the outer limit of comfort and safety. You mastered the Fine too so it cannot be you, (as you are very experienced.) I would ditch that MS pronto. It is Zamak anyway which I have sworn off. Plastic beats it in terms of durability.


    15 October 2016 at 2:59 pm

  2. I’m going to give it one more go, with Derby blades, before I give up. And I’m sure there are some who love the razor.


    15 October 2016 at 3:40 pm

  3. My problem with the Maggards slant is that the two I received were both asymmetric. One side had a blade gap, the other didn’t (flush against the guard like the X3). It tended to nick my chin, even with my kindest blades, Red Personnas, and Gillette Silver Blues.


    17 October 2016 at 11:58 pm

Leave a Reply

