Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Vertamae Smart-Grosvenor’s Onion Pie, modified a bit

leave a comment »

A savory pie that makes a nice snack. The original recipe is here; the version below reflects various changes I made.

  • 3 large onions, finely sliced – I did a Neapolitan thing: one red onion, one yellow, and one white.
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons bacon fat or olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 4 eggs – I use jumbo, but extra-large would do
  • ¾ cup heavy cream or sour cream

My diet preference is low-carb (less than 50g net carbs a day, and closer to 30g than to 50g), so I just omitted the crust altogether. It’s just (high-carb) filler.

Sauté the onions in butter and bacon fat or olive oil until they are tender and translucent.

Season generously with salt and pepper.

Add the flour, and cook for just a few more minutes, then turn off the heat. Let it cool a while. Take a break.

Whisk the eggs with the (heavy or sour) cream, and mix well with the onions, then pour the mixture into an 8×8 pan lined with parchment paper.

Bake at 350ºF until the egg mixture is set, about 35 minutes with jumbo eggs.

Experiment with adding crumbled Gorgonzola or Blue cheese with the cream.

It makes a lovely savory pie, and the 8×8 pan easily produces 9 pieces, 3×3, with the center piece a special treat. I like the look the red onion adds, the red bits seeming like random mosaic over the surface of the pie, which comes out a cream color. I used bacon fat and sour cream this time and like the pie. I’ll try olive oil and heavy cream next time.

I particularly enjoy it because:

  1. It’s a dark, cold, windy, rainy day. A warm treat would be nice.
  2. It sounded perfect for a teatime treat, and I like savory more than sweet.
  3. I had all the ingredients on hand—I love it when that happens.

Well worth the minimal effort.

Written by LeisureGuy

16 October 2016 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

