Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Omega Mixed Midget, Tallow + Steel Classic, and the Dorco PL-602

with 5 comments

SOTD 2016-10-19

Both the Dorco PL-602 razor and the Omega Mixed Midget shaving brush (badger + boar) were mentioned in various discussions on Wicked Edge, so both came to mind as I picked the morning gear.

Tallow + Steel Classic has a very nice fragrance, and indeed strikes a good classic note:

Oakmoss + Patchouli + Guaiacwood + Vetiver + Geranium + Anise + Rosemary + Bergamot + Lavender

Three passes with the Dorco PL-602 left a problem-free BBS result, and a splash of the Classic aftershave finished the shave on a good note.

A great shave starts the day on the right foot.

Written by LeisureGuy

19 October 2016 at 9:22 am

Posted in Shaving

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would never have considered this cheap Dorco if I hadn’t seen it here, and now I have to thank you. It really is amazing, like I can do no wrong.


    19 October 2016 at 11:46 am

  2. Isn’t it astonishing? I learned of it from an article Victor Marks wrote in Sharpologist a while back. When I first shaved with it, I couldn’t believe it. It easily matches the comfort and efficiency of some razors I have that cost $100 and up. And damn clever design, with the same adjustment idea as the Merkur Progress (substantially more expensive than the PL-602).

    I now keep a few on hand to give to those who express interest. Or so I believe. The Wife might see it somewhat differently.🙂


    19 October 2016 at 11:56 am

  3. I did buy an extra to pass on to my nephew. I keep hoping he’ll eventually shave properly. I’ve loaded him up with a Tech and a 40s Super Speed, just so he can start with the gentlest gear.

    Between the PL-602 and the Rockwell six-way, I could be set for life. The dough that used to be my razor money I’ve been spending on fountain pens.


    19 October 2016 at 12:34 pm

  4. I think part of the secret of the PL-602 is the extreme curvature of the blade, a characteristic shared by the RazoRock Baby Smooth.

    Fountain pens: get in touch. I am going to sell my complete collection (hand tremors put an end to my penmanship), complete with Italian cabinet…


    19 October 2016 at 12:44 pm

  5. That may be, and now I may have to try the Baby Smooth. One never truly stops buying razors.

    I’d love to see what pens you have. I’ll send you a DM on Reddit, and we’ll talk.


    19 October 2016 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

