Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Formula for a homemade “shaving cream”

leave a comment »

Eddie from Australia pointed out this recipe for homemade “shaving cream.” As you can see at the link, it’s pretty simple. Whisk together:

1/3 c good organic coconut oil
1/3 c good organic shea butter
1/4 c extra-virgin olive oil

Whisk together and you have what the author calls “shaving cream” and what I would call “shave oil.”

I haven’t tried it and do not intend to, but if you try it, I would be interested in hearing a report of the results.

UPDATE: On Reddit’s Wicked_Edge subreddit, /u/betelgeux notes:

I was given one to try by a friend that was very nearly the same proportions.
It does not lather, can’t be watered. Had to apply it by hand, using fingertips to get it down to the pores. It’s cold and slippery. Nothing makes a straight razor shave more exciting than lubing up both hands for a loss of control at unplanned points.

Cleanup took longer because I basically had to degrease my hands and tools. Wiped off as much as I could and spent the rest of the morning feeling like I’d forgotten to wash my face.

For me it was not any better than a mid-grade soap shave but less comfortable. 3/10 Just slightly better than a butter shave, about on par with the PB&shave.

Written by LeisureGuy

29 October 2016 at 9:53 am

Posted in Recipes, Shaving

Leave a Reply

