Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Stubble Trubble Up & Adam and the Merkur 37C slant

leave a comment »

2016-11-03

I just learned recently of the existence of Stubble Trubble shaving soaps. The one I used this morning, Up & Adam, lists these ingredients:

Stearic Acid, Distilled Water, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Sodium Hydroxide, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Sodium Lactate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glycerin, and Fragrance

It’s a vegan soap, as you see. Stubble Trubble offers a good variety of fragrances (see first link above), and if they lather like the soap I purchased, they are excellent: very easy to lather, and I do like the fragrance, which they describe as “a robust espresso and vanilla blend with a hint of menthol” followed by several exclamation points, but I’m not up to that. The amount of menthol was fine with me: barely detectable to the point that I didn’t realize it had menthol until I read the description. (I’m not big on menthol.)

Have made a great lather with the G.B. Kent Infinity brush (which I’m liking more and more), I set to work with the 37G. It really is quite a good slant, and I can understand why many base their slant designs on the Merkur model.

In my latest poll, the division is about 50-50 between those who find their slant razors gives a better shave and shave experience than their regular razors and those who find their slant gives about the same shave and experience as their regular razor. Only one response so far has said their slant gives a worse shave and experience than a regular razor.

Based on that, I do think it’s worthwhile to experiment with a slant once you feel you have mastered your current razor, and right now I’m recommending the RazoRock German 37 head ($12) as the best cost-effective introduction. Assuming you have a handle available, the head is all you need. (Handles are pretty widely available now, sold separately.) Note these three pointers if you’re new to slants.

A good splash of Van Yulay’s Achilles aftershave, and I’m ready for what the day might bring.

Written by LeisureGuy

3 November 2016 at 8:09 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

