Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Our Thanksgiving dinner

leave a comment »

I’m making this Mark Bittman recipe for turkey thighs, with a few changes because I’m combing two recipes:

I’m using diced pancetta instead of prosicutto. If it’s good, I’ll do it again and use prosciutto—get a slice 1/4″ thick, then dice it at home.

I’m making a paste by mixing ground sage, thyme, tarragon, salt, and pepper with just enough olive oil to make a paste. I’ll cut a few deep slits into the skin, the rub the thighs with the paste, both sides, and refrigerate overnight. The next day (T-giving Day), I’ll take them out an hour or so before I cook.

Then back to Bittman. I did not get the two sprigs of thyme, but I do have the herb paste. The 2 cups of veg (probably 3 cups) will be: shallots, carrot, celery, parsley, and dried porcini mushrooms. I will use the cloves of garlic, black olives, and tomato.

I’m going to use white wine, not red. And after I put the thighs on the veg and add the wine, I’m covering the pan and putting it into a 200ºF oven for 3 or 4 hours.

Written by LeisureGuy

22 November 2016 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

