Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Le Père Lucien, the iKon 102, and Creed’s Green Irish Tweed

with 4 comments

SOTD 2016-12-06

My purposes today was to compare Institut Karité shaving soap with the Le Père Lucien soap I have, and so I used the same brush.

The lathers were pretty much the same in terms of quality, though the fragrance differs. Le Père Lucien has more of a fragrance, whereas IK smelled more like soap—still a fragrance, but rather plain and subdued: a clean, fresh smell. LPL had more what I would call a fragrance, but still not strongly present.

A good lather, in any event, and the iKon 102 did its usual sterling job: perfectly smooth, no problems. A splash of Creed’s Green Irish Tweed finished the job.

A new stainless steel adjustable razor CNC machined from stainless steel has come to market: the Barbaros & Rocnel, made in Turkey and offered in the US by Bullgoose Shaving for $300. I have to say that I am not interested in buying one, for obvious reasons: I’m culling the collection rather than adding to it. (I admit I got the Parker Variant, but it was $57 and more likely to be a force in the market rather than collector bait, plus Mantic59 had high praise for it as a Progress equivalent.) Still, it’s an intriguing razor.

Written by LeisureGuy

6 December 2016 at 10:19 am

Posted in Shaving

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This brush is nice. On YouTube you can check Under Alain Maitre barbier and you will see where the brush comes from. A nice video.

    When will you try the Parker Variant. I am eager to read your comments.
    Thank you

    reynald p

    6 December 2016 at 12:53 pm

  2. Take a look at this post. (If you ever want to find a post for a razor, you can use the “Search Blog” box at the right, and the “Search Category” lists all posts for the given category.)

    LeisureGuy

    6 December 2016 at 1:59 pm

  3. The B&R Razor looks neat, but I think that I will hold out for the Rockwell Model T. I have to admit that I got better shaves out of the Parker Variant than I do my Merkur Progress.

    Ryan

    6 December 2016 at 2:38 pm

  4. Compared to slant and OC razors, adjustable razors have had the least impact on my shaved. I keep my fat boy on 5 & don’t move the dial, so I have to pass on that SS adjustable too.

    Larry

    7 December 2016 at 9:21 am


Leave a Reply

