Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

H.L. Thäter and Van Yulay Achilles, with the Maggard V2 open-comb

leave a comment »

SOTD 2016-12-10

Yesterday I enjoy the Thäter brush so much, I decided to use my other one today, and much the same is true of the Van Yulay soap. Achilles is quite a nice soap—and I highly recommend trying some samples of their soaps. The samples are nicely packaged for easy loading and bear the label of the soap inside.

I easily got a very nice lather, and as usual with a clay-based soap, I added water during the loading. This soap is definitely not vegan: it has tallow in addition to emu oil:

Stearic Acid, Coconut Fatty Acid, Palm Stearic, Castor, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Tobacco Tea, Aloe Vera, Coconut-Emu-Tallow-Meadow Foam-Borage-Argan- Oils, Kentucky Bourbon, Sodium Lactate, Herbal Ground Tea, Calendula, Extracts, Poly Quats, Allantoin, Silica, Bentonite Clay, Glycerin Soap, Tobacco Absolute, Mica and Fragrance.

The fragrance appeals to me, but I suggest you try a sample: tastes vary.

Tobacco with the perfect amount of Kentucky bourbon, hints of cherry, notes of vanilla, of rosewood, cedar, smoke, and sweet birch.

My Maggard V2 open-comb head is on their MR7 handle. I’ve seen some discuss Zamak razor as though they were as brittle as glass, but I dropped this razor this morning without incident. (It’s head is Zamak; the handle is stainless steel.)

Three passes to a totally smooth finish—this is for me quite a good razor and one of my standard recommendations for a novice since the razor is both extremely comfortable and extremely efficient.

A splash of Achilles aftershave, and the weekend begins.

Written by LeisureGuy

10 December 2016 at 9:55 am

Posted in Shaving

Leave a Reply

