Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Using an appropriate soap: Phoenix Artisan Solstice with the Above the Tie S1

with 2 comments

SOTD 2016-12-21

Solstice shaving soap, I noticed this morning, has a very attractive fragrance: Sage, Sweetgrass, Cedar, Rose Absolute, and Benzoin Resin. I like it a lot. Perhaps I’ll get the matching aftershave. The soap is everything one could want: easy to load, very good lather, great fragrance, and leaves my skin feeling quite soft and nice (though some credit in this case must go also to the balm).

My Rooney Finest Style 2 is a terrific brush, and I always enjoy using it. Fluffy yet resilient, it loads quickly, makes a great lather, and has ample capacity.

Above the Tie’s S1 slant is quite good for me, though not, I find, quite equal to the X3 and 102, but that probably varies by person. (The S2 is too harsh for me, but some love it, so you see YMMV in action.) Three passes to a smooth countenance, and then a dot of Alt-Eleven balm finished the job.

 

Written by LeisureGuy

21 December 2016 at 7:21 am

Posted in Shaving

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had two of the Rooney 2/1 Finests and both were the scritchiest-tipped brushes I’ve ever used. Apparently both came from the same batch (circa 2009) since I bought both from the same vendor within a couple months of each other. It’s unfortunate because otherwise they were great lather-makers, and I liked the handle and knot conformation. I had been hoping to grab one of the soft-tipped Finests that were around at the time — you apparently have one — but caught an unlucky break instead.

    Ron

    21 December 2016 at 10:04 am

  2. That’s a general problem with natural products and the great advantage of synthetics: consistency. My Rooney is from around 2006… I just did a search and the earliest mention of my Rooney Style 2 Finest is January 1, 2007.

    LeisureGuy

    21 December 2016 at 12:55 pm


Leave a Reply

