Later On

A blog written for those whose interests more or less match mine.

Roasted Chicken Provençal

leave a comment »

I’ve made this recipe multiple times (and made it again this evening), and it’s always good. I pretty much follow the recipe, with these exceptions:

I use 9 chicken thighs, since my roasting pan holds nine: three ranks of three thighs.

I don’t season the chicken with salt and pepper but season the flour: probably 2-3 teaspoons of salt and an equal amount of black pepper. I put that in a plastic bag with the flour, and shake the thighs in the bag (three at a time) to coat them.

I use two lemons, not one, and after cutting the ends off, I halve the lemons vertically and then cut each half vertically into thirds: six sections per lemon.

I use like 14-16 cloves of garlic, and probably 10-12 shallots, peeled and halved if large.

I tuck the lemons, garlic, and shallots around the chicken so each chicken thigh is surrounded.

I don’t mess with the thyme: the 2 tablespoons of herbes de Provence seems plenty to me.

Roast 30 minutes at 400ºF, use a baster to baste the chicken, then roast another 30 minutes.

The cooked garlic, shallots, and lemon are very tasty, not to mention the chicken. Well worth trying. A family pack of chicken thighs provides enough thighs, with some left over to roast by themselves.

Written by LeisureGuy

1 January 2017 at 5:37 pm

Posted in Food, Low carb, Recipes

Leave a Reply

